Sort:  

This is amazing. Great video and great in depth post. As a freelancer myself, I feel your pain. It's a tough gig. Every project you get quicker and hopefully will be compensated better. Anyway, good luck and keep up the great work!

BTW, your spaceship animation is seamless. well done!

I tend to avoid freelance now. Like I said, I'd rather work for myself and make no money than work for somebody else and make... basically no money lol.

But Steemit is making it easier for me to work for myself! I've been pretty well rewarded for some of the animation I've shared here.

Thanks for the comment :)

I understand exactly what you mean. With this music video you showed how powerful you drawing and editing talent is. Hopefully, more people will be aware of you and you get some good upvotes.

Wow! Seriously you are talented and a hard worker. I know what you mean... I'm an artist and when I create art it takes a lot of time and effort. Last year I published a coloring book for adults with 37 illustrations and it took me little under a year to complete this feat. We don't do it for the money, we do it because we love what we do.

It's cool that the Steemit community will be able to help artists and animators and creators in general.

Love what you do! Glad I stumbled upon ya yesterday.

:D :D

Thanks for your comment!

thanks for your cool animations :)

What a great post. Thank you very much for sharing.

"I would rather earn no money working on my own projects than spend months making something that I don't really care about for only a few hundred dollars."

I learned that one the hard way, too, as I am sure many, many people. Especially the ones making a living from "doing their hobby".

Your quote is worthy of framing and hanging up in offices worldwide, dear Sir.

Thank you so much for your comment.

It's not about the money. It's about where I'd rather pour my time and energy.

This will definitely have to be at the common display of not getting paid for the value of your creation. For the amount of time alone invested $300 would've never been enough. great work and effort by the way.

$300 is probably less than a penny an hour!

Thats bullshit excuse my French

I assume you're referring to the amount I was paid.

The Video is amazing and the song got me goosebumps!! resteemed it ;)

Thanks! I'm glad you liked it.

Hm... well I think you did gain something from those 6 months anyway. More than the money was the mindset you now have and the experience that led you to your now-mindset. Plus, you have something to show us and talk about! :P So I say, it wasn't all that bad spending that much time on your first commission. You can now look back and say, Never again! As compared to wondering about it :) And, really, you did great :) I can't draw to save my life. Much less even think about learning to animate! (I like the storyboard concept btw. I should pick that up, really)

Hardly imaginable you have done this project alone. This is some awesome work, just like your tutorial video on steemvotes!

I´m just experimenting with animation
@bronkong-gif-small.gif
@bronkong check my blogs if you are searching for inspiration :P

I'm glad you liked my tutorial video. I just announced that there will be more of those coming!

The shot of the green lady turning into the monster reminds me of Liquid Television.

I never watched Liquid Television, but you've just reminded me of how MTV used to have a lot of really cool animated programming.

That first run of Liquid Television gave a lot of exposure to new animators especially the more outlandish ones.

Animating is such an incredible amount of work and for 300$ talk about a labour of love! Really interesting post, I'm resteeming!

Really impressive work that deserves much grater exposure! I'll resteem it to my own little tribe.

It makes me think of Rick and Morty a little. Except that you did the whole damn thing from storyboarding to execution. Hot damn - hard to imagine.

Rick and Morty was a big influence. I'm glad you could feel it! Thanks for the comment.

One earth girl is into me... You made me thinking.
Anyway, nice animation. My advice to you is to keep up, do interesting jobs no matter if its for 200-300 dollars. It matters you enjoy. And, I am sure this band or whatever it is will call you again, and you will be able to ask for higher price. :)

I think the band may have broken up haha... But I might be wrong about that one.

I'll mostly be doing personal projects now, though I am working on a music video for a friend of mine right now.

Looking forward to watch new music video :)
I have to admit, I enjoyed your animations. And, don't worry if you make something I don't like, I will be 100% honest. :)

Hello my friend, I had a question from you. What are the resteemed posts for you? Waiting for the answer. Thank you.

I'm not sure I understand the question...

This post gets a 0.90 % upvote thanks to @sethlinson - Hail Eris !