You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's behind the curtains

in #art4 years ago

Hi Spidey! You made an interesting point with this post but it's a very long discussion to take. I don't know any professional artist that doesn't use any kind of reference. Maybe they're selfish, but no one ever has shared or even mentioned what they use, maybe it should change, I don't know.
For example, I've seen the creator of Jojo's bizarre adventure making an illustration on youtube, he kept going back and forward with books of sculptures and fashion magazines as inspiration for designs and poses for the characters, he made an entire story and character development but copied poses for that illustration, is he stealing?

I remember seeing artists who posted daily copying almost everything of a painting I made to keep coming up with art, and of course, he/she didn't mention me, I considered it as inspiration, not necessarily a steal.

It's different when you copy 1:1 other's work. It shouldn't be considered art, just a study, or practice, and mentioning the original artist should be mandatory. Analyzing it further, if it should be monetized, sold or however they think to use it, that's beyond me.

Sort:  

hi siucatti!

i think if they rely on primarily ONE photograph, some credits belong to the photographer?

if they use LOTS AND LOTS AND LOTS of different bases, it's more like the painter / illustrator did not rely only on a SINGLE primary source?

copying is a method to study is valid, i think, but again, i think if there is ONE SPECIFIC photograph that is mostly used, we should kind of... not take the photographer's artistry for granted? just cite the name and give something back to the photographer, cuz everyone's trying to get noticed and just by citing the name or linking the photographer's work, we are honouring their artistry, too?

photography seems to be just treated differently to painting / illustration and the thought was kind of uncomfortable to me... that's all~

I agree, that's why I made the distinción if it's a 1:1 copy or not.

I think pretty much all forms of art are considered disposable, it's not exclusive to photography, just look at all the fuzz going on with YouTube and copyright claims.

For me, the best way to credit photographers would be to make collaborations, and Hive could be a great place to do that.

Loading...