# The Beauty Of The Ocean

in #art6 years ago

Unique to New Zealand...

is our native Paua. Paua is a sea snail similar to the Abalone, a plant eating shell fish. Maori, the indigenous tribe, prized the Paua not only for it's high protein and tasty meat, but also for the beauty in the internal shell, yielding a stunning flood of colour which I've attempted to capture below.

5F4C392E-E3A2-4FD4-9DD3-5788A808802F.JPG

The mollusc feeds on seaweed and clings to the rock around 1-10 mtrs deep along the shoreline

FullSizeRender.jpg

The Maori made the effervescent shell into intricate jewelry which is still a major New Zealand Product today

F2FF90F2-B5BA-4AFC-A953-115229C36F25.JPG

The shell varies in quality. This one I would say is probably a Jewelry grade shell . Although most I find are from hunting them for food, I found this one on the beach close to where I live.

What an amazing creature!

All of the images were captured with an iPhone 6.