New Art Piece - Pregnant Belly Cast

in #art2 years ago (edited)

In this post I want to share one of my most favorite pieces of art that I recently made: my daughter's pregnant belly cast!

Here is the story:

During her pregnancy, she kept showing me all types of belly casts she saw on the internet. I never made anything like this before and I told her to buy a kit and try to make it together. So she did, and when she was 8 months pregnant, we all wrapped her up and did the cast. It was a mess and quite an experience, but I never thought to take photos and to document the process. I never thought that I would get so involved in decorating the belly cast. Look how beautiful it came out and imagine the amount of work and love I put in creating it!

cast1.jpeg

Here are some details:

cast4.jpeg

cast3.jpeg

Now, let me tell you: it was a long process and I worked in small increments, just because I did not have time, I was too busy with my job and also with helping her with the new born baby.

So let's start the journey... at first, it was just a white body. I started to glue some mosaic pieces I bought on Amazon. I had a plan and a blueprint I previously created, my own design of course!

cast5.jpeg

cast6.jpeg

I basically experimented with different types of compounds, as I never ever made a mosaic piece in my life, and honestly, I don't think I will try to make another one. Ha, ha! Messy...

Next step: paint. I liked this part, because I love colors. Bright and vibrant, this is my style. So my cast looked like this:

cast7.jpeg

You can see the cast before and after :)

cast8.jpeg

The theme of the belly cast is Peacock, so I bought some feathers and I got puzzled: how am I supposed to incorporate them in my piece of art? Also, my cast was getting heavy and my initial idea of hanging it on the wall was not a realistic one any more. So... I will have to display it standing on a table or something like that.

I decided to attach the feathers on the back of the cast, so I needed to strengthen the interior of the cast, so I started the gluing process. Fabric!!! I used a T-shirt that my daughter loved to wear while pregnant, so I doubled-up! More sentimental value, yes!

cast9.jpeg

cast10.jpeg

It was a long process, I needed a lot of patience to cut and glue the fabric, not to mention the feathers! But I got it! If you notice, I added some shine with glaze, glitter and tiny mirrors.

zoom.jpeg

The Pregnant Belly Cast stands tall on the top of a dresser for now. It is safe and secured, as I made a stand from an old lamp base that you can't even see, it is hidden in the body. I am all about recycling, baby!

cast11.jpeg

Here is a short video I made:

PS - I put some pictures on my social media and lots of girls are asking me to make pregnant belly casts for them. OMG, did I open the Pandora box? I am happy to share the process of making such a cool piece of art, but I couldn't do custom orders, it's really time consuming and also very personal, I think.

What do you think?


F1B56A61-CB2E-44D1-A22F-B836D20DD84E.png

Follow me and my stories
0BA25C9B-589B-4828-81CA-2E444FD75F0D.gif

76AC110C-7FC9-4609-B70A-B98A7A5598A9.jpeg

Sort:  

That’s us super cool work I love seeing the process as it was created

Thank you @tattooodjay, it came out really cool. I love to share my creation process, I hope someone will get inspired and create art...

I am sure people get inspired seeing your art posts

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @rezoanulvibes & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Congratulations @starjewel! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 4 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 11
Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!