Artwork- Smiling, The Concealer of Our Hidden Battles

in #art7 years ago (edited)

19761126_275334006268575_3228670419850493952_n.jpg

Behind that Smile

This is a side portrait which I executed about a month ago that got me thinking, behind that smile used in gracing our faces, is there more?.... We see different people coming through with various degrees of laughter and smiles like life has been rosy but really is everyone happy?. Using myself as an example in times of minor setbacks or not achieving intended expectations, I try as much as possible to conceal them most times, I can't obviously relate my problems to everyone because not everyone deserves a peep into my inner battles. Even if it was communicated, they just might see it as none of their business but still try to hold back the words "it's your problem, solve it" which could be sensed as hurtful by me. What do I do to give everyone asides my close pals that all is well? "I smile like everything is cool" as that's the only way to avoid the wars of life from graciously presenting itself on my face which might sum up into baseless questions.

What am I driving at?

We all are different personalities with different perceptions, attitude towards life, culture, beliefs and struggles. Behind those smiles you see on those faces, there just might be wars and unconquered battles being dealt with, be nice to people especially those in need, be careful of hurtful utterances and attitudes that compound the problems of others which could lead them further into an abyss of melancholy. A dog alive is worth more than 10 dead lions, your attitude towards others today could just halt an imminent suicide, you never can tell.

Bottom Line

Respect others.

Lend a helping hand.

We all have our inner battles and struggles, they only vary.

There is more behind that beautiful smile.


Always remember the world is yours. Thanks for dropping by :)


Sort:  

Great artwork!

Thanks buddy :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by steemlifestyle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Great post! I know exactly what you mean. When you walk down the streets and look in the faces of the people, instead of staring sensless on your smartphone, you will often see them struggle with themselfs. Even if they are smiling and trying to hide their feelings, you know that there is more individuality behind that.
Resteemed :D

..... very nice picture by the way^^ (forgot to say that)

Thanks a lot friend :)

love the art @steemlifestyle

Thanks a lot friend :)

I feel this... Amazing how we encounter in this digital world reflections of ourselves. Truly is no such thing as coincidence. My first post @jovialjoel touches on this

Thanks for dropping by :)

love your style! reminds me of some sort of abstract copperplating ! :D

Thanks a lot friend :)

Yeah, in today's society a lot of people judge each other without just taking a moment to think about what that person might be going through, but I definitely feel you. This is an amazing art piece man. Keep up the good vibes. :)

Thanks a lot friend, am glad you are on the same page with me :)

Yes, smile can sometimes be a cover-up. I am a good example of this character. In the face of trouble, I smile as if all is well.

I really like what you had to say at the end, it is a really great way to keep your followers coming back for more.

Thanks a lot for the kind words friend :)

@steemlifestyle - Amazing side portrait. I like the fluidity with which you sketch and the thoughts that went with it. Thanks for sharing. Upvoted

Wonderful words and great artwork!

Thanks a lot friend :)

What a beautiful message you have given through this :) Excellent artwork :)

Great message and thought behind this emotion. Smiling is the life great gift. However I know many of my friend's who took their lives still gave me a smile the last time we spoke.