BAD DOG: Prep, Promo and Character Sketches

in #art2 years ago

Untitled_Artwork (88).jpg
One of the personal projects I am currently chipping away at is BAD DOG.

IMG_5111.jpg

I've been a sci-fi enthusiast for about as long as I can remember. Starting early on with the usual entry points, Star Trek and Star Wars, my interest in the genre only deepened as I grew older; shows like The Twilight Zone, Red Dwarf, Cowboy Bebop, Firefly, the novels of William Gibson, and comics like Akira and Transmetropolitan and the old EC work by Wally Wood. A common thread among many of these was their episodic nature. Each week, or issue, presented a new world, a new adventure, and new possibilities, typically under the framework of an overarching plot.

IMG_5112.jpg

BAD DOG is sort of my love letter to the genre. The book follows the crew of the BAD DOG cargo ship on their various misadventures throughout the galaxy. The initial plan is a limited series, around 26 issues (or tracks, as a loving nod to BEBOP) over the course of a few years, to be initially serialized in my forthcoming anthology comic EMPTY HOUSES. As each Track is completed, they will be released as their own collected book.

Untitled_Artwork 1 (3).jpg

I'm currently about a third of the way through the pencils for the first track, THE UNBEARABLE BLIGHTNESS OF BEING. While there is a script, I'm also not putting any restrictions on myself regarding the actual length and page count of each story. The plan is to let them take as long as they take.

Untitled_Artwork 2 (2).jpg

While finished pages are still a month or two away, I figured I'd share some of the character sketches and promo art. Tone-wise, the book launches off in the tradition of COWBOY BEBOP and FIREFLY, through the lenses of a guy that's spent most of his adult life digesting the work of Edgar Wright and Kevin Smith. I'm really enjoying working on this one so far, and the vast creative landscape it's presenting to me. I'm also really looking forward to sharing it with y'all as it develops.

IMG_5124.jpg
I'm really enjoying working on this one so far, and the vast creative landscape it's presenting to me. I'm also really looking forward to sharing it with y'all as it develops.

Untitled_Artwork (89).jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @swarddraws! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 200 replies.
Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month challenge - Feedback from February day 3
Our Hive Power delegations to the last Power Up Month challenge Winners
Feedback from the February 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Looks a really interesting work, staying tuned for updates over it.

Love that dog and birb duo! 🙌🙌🙌