Pan's Labyrinth

in #art2 years ago

Pan_For_Print.jpg
Yesterday I saw actor Doug Jones made a Happy 15th Birthday post to Guillermo Del Toro's PAN'S LABYRINTH. I'm not quite sure the math adds up there, according to a quick check of IMDB, but I'm certainly not going to argue with someone as lovely as Doug Jones (the actor, mind you).

This was my first real exposure to Del Toro as an auteur. I was a huge fan of the first HELLBOY movie, which is I think why I was so amped about this flick. I had seen BLADE 2 and MIMIC, but had no idea at that point that they were made by the same person. It would be another few years before I was able to track down CRONOS or THE DEVILS BACKBONE.

This was also one of the last flicks my dad and I went to see together, just the two of us. (I should mention that he is alive and well, and we still have a solid relationship; he just doesn't care for movie theaters much any more.) The two of us, based on the trailers that had been showing on TV leading up to the films release, were expected a sort of slightly dark fantasy adventure; similar in tone to the HELLBOY flick. Obviously, anyone that has seen the movie knows that wasn't what happened.

This movie cracked my head wide open. I remember leaving the theater and being pretty much speechless. My dad was rather let down, not being a huge fan of movies heavy with social commentary, and very much not being a fan of subtitled flicks. But the imagery, the colors, the structure of the story, the score; everything about PAN'S LABYRINTH clicked for me. And while not all of Del Toro's flicks since that have lined up quite as perfectly with my tastes, this one made it certain that I'd be there on opening night for anything he released for the rest of my life.

This illustration was done a year or two ago, when I was really starting to get comfortable working in ProCreate.
Anyway, hope y'all have a good Friday.

XOXO
-Adam

Sort:  

Very nice. I remember seeing this movie with my brother in law. It was when my wife and I were first dating and her brother in law was still living with her. I finished watching it and I was just asking myself what I had just watched. I've never watched it since and I really feel like I should since I probably didn't fully appreciate it the first time because I was expecting something totally different.

It is a very powerful movie and not an easy watch, but well worth seeing. You really captured it well.

!PIZZA

This movie was one of the best films in any genre DelToro knocked it out of the park by bringing his unique vision of this masterpiece to the big screen. If the future consider using the #cinetv and #cine tags when your content is about films or television so you can ear CINE token and get more exposure from our community members!

Congratulations @swarddraws! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 50 posts.
Your next target is to reach 60 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month challenge - Feedback from February day 3
Our Hive Power delegations to the last Power Up Month challenge Winners
Feedback from the February 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!