The lines of tomorrow

in #art5 years ago

LRM_EXPORT_494683574530700_20191023_212830427.jpeg


The lines of tomorrow


So many nights awake I lay
wondering where you'd be
Life astray and wandering the streets
looking for home and place to rest feet.
The shadows danced on the walls
and the tall shelves cast their gaze
waiting for you to pick up where you left
and read from a page again.
From beneath the sheets I peer
at the thin line beneath the door
but no more will it swing to open wide
and your footsteps won't arrive.
Age has taught the lessons
and hairs have turned sullen grey
eyes too heavy to look at the loss of life
given to another who never knew.
Love is a one-sided affair
no counterpoint required to feel
a thousands lights devoured by darkness
to fall prey to promises unmet.
Weary and staring sideways
at what could have been found
if only there'd been another world and girl
who opened that door long ago.


Taraz
[ a Steem original ]


Onboarding

Sort:  

love really is one sided

It is often used as if it is paying someone else a favor to love them. I don't think that is love.

I love dancing with my shadows

Have an epic one!

P.D: I'd appreciate your review on my latest post: The Best Time to Workout Revealed