Old Chopping Board Becomes 3D Painting- A Photographic Look Inside

in #art6 years ago

Instead of throwing this old chopping board into the fireplace when it cracked and became warped, it became a 3D image using acrylic paints.

IMG_1608.jpg

The Giant's Columns- acrylic on cutting board 2017

Below is the process that I used to create the cutting board painting, then some close-ups of the work.

I first taped off the edges, and spray-painted the board with primer, sketched a basic layout, then got out the acrylic paints, beginning with the sky.

IMG_1566.jpg

From here, the following photos will show most of the steps involved in completing the painting:

IMG_1572.jpg

Letting the Paint Play
IMG_1569.jpg

IMG_1573.jpg

IMG_1574.jpg

IMG_1578.jpg

IMG_1580.jpg

When working with acrylics, I like to bring light to the picture by starting with the darkest undercoat, and then adding the light by mixing white and/or yellow into the base color.

IMG_1582.jpg

IMG_1584.jpg

IMG_1587.jpg

Finally, growing some moss and lichen on the rocks:

IMG_1614.jpg

A Few More Close-ups


IMG_1617.jpg

IMG_1615.jpg

IMG_1619.jpg

Thanks for looking into my cutting board!


IMG_1611.jpg


Screen Shot 2017-10-25 at 1.00.30 PM.png

@therealpaul

Sort:  

Wow...such a wonderful 3D art work by @therealpaul
Sir..I think ur drawing and painting skills are execellent...specialy that is 3D paint..wow...
Awesome idea and great work..
I think U have wonderful and creative artwork ideas...
Wel done sir...

Thanks @dini1, I appreciate the comment.

Okay, that is freaking awesome. Is it something you did recently? I want to buy it- ohh, I have my first printed book in a case on the mantle, I could put it up with that, make the mantle a showcase for such things! Actually, I could settle for a high quality photo of it, Howie plans on getting a 3d printer :) Actually in that case I would love one of the oil too!
Oh and stop by chat when you get a moment.

Yep, I did this over the last two days, the paint is still soft! When I saw the potential for 'steps' in 3D I got the paints out.

Pretty cool! I take it a shadow box is in order? :)

I'll probably just hang it up somewhere!

At least a coat of varnish? ;)

Varnish might be a good idea, so it can be dusted and cleaned, and I have some around here somewhere.

wow wow wow couldn't stop myself from saying that damm that's the best creative work ever !!

wow amazing job. painting is amazing and idea for utilization of old damaged chipping board is just great. it show your creativity nice work @therealpaul

I appreciate it!

You are very creative !!

you just blew away my mind with that one how interesting is that wow so cool
Merry Xmas

That was the plan!

Wow excellent art,,,this is old painting nice,,thank you friend

you just blew away my mind with that one how interesting is that wow so cool
Merry Xmas