Joe Pierce's "TiTLE_II", A Spoken Word Album Like You've Never Heard Before

in #art5 years ago (edited)

TiTLE_II ARTWORK.jpg

Hello Everyone, before I start posting some of my original poetry on Steemit I wanted to share with you all the spoken word album I created and recorded with my friends back in November of 2018. I wrote a really fierce, surreal and satiric piece about drug addiction called, "TiTLE_II: I'm Named After Two Saints, So I Thought To Myself, 'Why The Hell Not Act Like One?'" My friends contributed to my vision of this offbeat project with guitar feedback noises and intricately arranged drum sequencing on Ableton. I am really proud of the results we achieved with this 2 track EP.

I was largely inspired to create something like this after listening to William S. Burroughs' & Kurt Cobain's collaboration titled, "The "Priest" They Called Him" (1993)


So I wrote my own short-story about both my own personal experiences & the experiences of my friends or their friends (ALL highly exaggerated) and had the guitarist I worked with on this EP sit down and read it before he left a late-nite jam session... He has admitted before that he doesn't enjoy reading at all, even when it comes to supporting his friends who write... However, he was captivated by the story and my writing style; He stayed another hour to talk about what he wanted to contribute for the EP and how stoked he was about it -He said it was the only thing he's actually enjoyed reading in the past 4 years. Soon after, lots of other people were hearing snippets of the EP and wanted in on it all. I picked 2 other friends I wanted to work with, who I know cared as much about the story as I did. They mixed, mastered and produced the drums, vocal effects and keyboards using only Ableton Live 9...

We all put our own meaning into the sound and direction of this EP... We wanted people to listen to a story and have an experience from our combined talent; We did just that!

Check it out on bandcamp or SoundCloud! It is FREE to download from bandcamp as a high quality .wav as well! You can pay for it though if you wish... Eventually we will be creating a small zine for the story itself, I plan on including several pieces of poetry with it as well.

Here are the links:

ritzsociety.bandcamp.com/album/title-ii-im-named-after-two-saints-so-i-thought-to-myself-why-the-hell-not-act-like-one

soundcloud.com/therhetorician/title_ii-pt-2

Sort:  

Congratulations @therhetorician! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@therhetorician, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Hello @therhetorician! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko