Discovering flaws in the Adobe Sketch Application

in #art7 years ago (edited)


I decided to give Adobe Sketch another serious try and now I’ve got some mixed feelings. The initial sketch was done on the Procreate App as per usual. I’ve got a larger range of pencil choices and blending tools that work in my favor. 

Procreate will be releasing an update in the fall with new and improved wet brushes. I’ve seen some behind the scenes footage shot by the Procreate team and I’m so freaking excited. I’ve signed up to be on the list to test out their public beta but I think I waited too long. 

I uploaded the sketch into Adobe and started to play around with brush sizes and the flow tool. From what I’ve seen, the flow tool controls the amount of color and also how the watercolors bleed. 

I decided to use several layers. I didn’t want to leave too much room for error. 

The biggest frustration that I have with Adobe Sketch is mixing colors. I’ve lowered the opacity on certain layers but it still looks overdone. I wish there was a tool where I could blend certain areas more without adding more too it. 

I added in darker tones for contrast. 

I downloaded the image and exported it into Procreate so that I could add in pencils. I saved the images for the completed sketch and noticed how the colors turned into pixels on the left hand side. 😐 Kind of a bummer but I’m not going to redo it- it is what it is. We’re planning on doing some cleaning before winter hits and I’ll have to make a mental note to retrieve my watercolor paints from a box hidden in the closet. 

I’ll be spend the rest of my evening sketching here at @coffetto.


Thanks for checking out my art. 🦊

Sort:  

Great job , grab some cookies with that coffee ;)

Thank you! Yeah, I’m gonna grab some food and then get back to my dessert and coffee.

That looks like fun but the rendering tabs on most art software are confusing and the manuals seem to be written by someone that assumes I know software....too cute😁

Hahah! Yea, it can get really confusing but I’ve gotten used to it. Digital art should be flawless and if it’s not then I might as well go back into traditional.

At least you don't have problems with white background like I do trying to photoshop a photograph of a traditional painting to post online...it's driving me crazy😏

Photoshop can be so time consuming. I’ve spent an unreasonable amount of time editing scratches off a table once. No fun. 😑

awesome good job!,upvoted! ^ ^

ill be happy if you would check my work of drawing ^ ^

https://steemit.com/@cuteve

Thank you! :) Yeah, I’ll check it out.

Thank you ^ ^

Beautiful work as always! Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for your kinds words and for posting that drawing of chopper! :D

You're welcome :)

I think it turned out quite well! Almost reminds me of '30s pop-art.

It can be so frustrating trying to figure out how to blend colors with a program you aren't used to. It took me a while to figure out my favorite method, back when I used to use a combination of Paint Shop Pro and Photoshop... once I get a new drawing tablet it's going to be that frustration all over again. But sometimes I prefer that frustration over the frustration of using traditional media and not having an "undo" button to magically fix something when I fuck up. lol

Thank you! I’m glad it turned out half decent!

I totally agree with you! Not having a real life undo button has stopped me from going back to traditonal art myself!

Hahaha yeah it held me back for a while... now I'm just really careful to take lots of progress photos and then if it gets really messed up I can always use a clean outlined version to paint digitally later. lol

I have a friend that does that! I've been meaning to try it but I'm afraid of losing my drawings if they're not stored in a safe place.

First of all I love you guys! >^.^<

I have never used tools like that, but I sort of understand how frustrating the blending thing can be. Would love to see your watercolor paints in action!

Awww, thanks! @kommienezuspadt and @moony are awesome. :)

I’m excited to share it if I can find them!