Never Apologize for Who YOU Are

in #art7 years ago

Tonight I thought I was just going to see a sound exhibition on a roof. But experienced so much more. While standing there listening to Emeka Ogboh and Ursula Rucker's 'Logan Squared: Ode to Philly' I couldn't help but start to move. A combination of singing and spoken word about Philadelphia (my new home). Tonight I was really able to live in the moment and I wasn't dancing for others. I was dancing for myself. Having the sounds flowing through my body and expressing them. It warmed my heart having the artists coming up to me and thanking me for dancing. If I only touch one person I'm happy. I also learned to be unapologetically myself. I was a little nervous to get up there and dance. But that's who I am I should never be afraid of showing that

IMG_0804.JPG

Sort:  

nice rock on.. Life is good

Upvoted by @parkyingnam , upvoted community helps minnow steemit

Your article makes me contemplate on self esteem - which is so difficult in the modern society - but of vital importance. ReSTEEM!!

Zero apologies for yourself. Why say sorry? Do you and keep on keeping on.

It never a bad thing to be a good dancer, just keep practicing and stop being nervous so you will become perfect.

Congratulations @victoriamh!
Your post was mentioned in the hit parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 3 with $ 111,71

If I didn't know better, I'd've thought that was choreographed! You're a beautiful dancer <3

@dillemma Thank you so much! That means a lot!

Never be afraid of who you are.

Sometimes I have this feeling about some song I made or some story I'm writing, or even when I'm playing and singing.

But, then I remember that I'm unique, I don't need to try to be someone and if people like my art or who I am, fine, if people don't like, fine as well.

Congratz for being yourself :-)

emilio_e_raphael.jpg

Success & Happiness

@raphavongal

@raphavongal Yes! I think that's one of the hardest things of being an artist. It been recently that I've realized that I have been creating art for others and not myself. For me dance is so therapeutic so it can be super scary being your most vulnerable and sharing with the world.


Agree. Sometimes when I made a song and show to people, it is like I'm naked and everyone is looking at me judging me.

I like to dance also, I dance the rumba and I would like to learn the Tango and contemporary dance.

I love art, I could not live without music, write, dance and another form of art.

Tks again for being yourself ;-)

I'm keeping my eyes on your posts and will try to support you as I can.

Below is one photo when I was 2, in 1982. I think I knew Music and Art would be important to me.

728887310498319.jpg

Hey check #thealliance page : https://steemit.com/thealliance/@thealliance/thealliance-updates-and-announcements-090917-heinz-57-new-contests-and-explosions

We are a nice a united team of people with quality content that is increasing fast here on steemit. There are many musicians, artists there, also some people dance.

talk with @enginewitty the creator of thealliance if you want to be part. I really recommend, it is very nice.

Very graceful! Upvoting and following!

Thanks for the follow! Followed back!

Hey nice to find this! Love your imprpvisation! Im new here and im also a dancer and performer. I'll be following u hope u like my blog to ill post videos soon. I was forgetting.. i have the same fear sometimes and ia good to break it ( my inglish is not the best hope u understand heh)

Yes! It's so nice to meet another dancer and performer! I followed you back, excited to see your videos soon!

I love this, here you are just flowing to the moment; which is beautiful by the way and the music starts to say, "demonstrate how to be bolder. " Touching. Is that some tai chi influence I sense?

Hi @wearehuman its actually not, I've never done tai chi before! I'll have to check it out! I've been training a little over 15years in codified modern techniques and currently I take many different styles. This was improvisation so I just do what ever comes to me, I don't really think while doing improvisation. Over the years you kinda find what feels good on your body and thats what this was.

Ah! I'm so surprised haha well, hopefully you check it out and you like it. I'm following! Beautiful soul.

Congratulations @victoriamh! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I love it, like a spontaneous art performance piece. Life is too short to care what others think, you are right. Lovely.

Dearest Steemians, I need Sponsor for my DRAWING CONTESTS... Please help me and let us nurture our talents in this beautiful community!

https://steemit.com/steemit/@mikekenlytungal/dearest-steemians-i-need-sponsor-for-my-drawing-contests-please-help-me-and-let-us-nurture-our-talents-in-this-beautiful

Thanks for sharing, upvoted

Beautiful:)!

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment