You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to find time to practice

in #art5 years ago

Of course, it all depends on what one wants to practice. :-)
I have too many things I want to practice and not enough time to do all of them... so I do a little bit here and a little bit there - and focus on my main projects for the majority of my "practice." (Most of it eventually turns up on Steemit too.)

I found you today because @muhtasim-zawad featured you in the Pay it Forward Curation contest. Keep up the great work!

Sort:  

I must warn you about biting several sandwiches at once . one of the things that always held me back was trying to learn as many skills as I can in the time I had, the result was:
I did spread myself too thin and got exhausted very fast, now I have general knowledge how stuff works but no extensive skill to speak of, in any of them.
Nowadays, I'm focusing on one subject and try to allocate as much of my time as I can to it. it yields better results and much faster.

I had to learn that it was okay to spend a couple of weeks hog-wild on a subject and then change tacks. It's how my brain works. For instance, I can work on learning a language for 2, 4, maybe even 8 weeks at a time. Then, my brains starts telling me that I should really be working on this other language instead. Then, I go there for awhile. I flit like a butterfly, and I've learned that it's okay. I'm never going to get perfect results, but I'll enjoy myself as well. So, I'm only fluent in two kinds of English. Yet, I can read enough of four other languages to get the gist - or help someone else - or work on my genealogy or whatever. I had to give myself permission to be a butterfly - but I'm always learning. (And you know what? I always come back to the same flowers, so my knowledge and experience is still growing.) Being tired just means you need to take a break and refocus. :-)