Digital pupper drawing process, tutorial, tips

in #art6 years ago

Hi, today I'd like to show you my drawing process of this puppy. This was a a little practice painting for me, I hope you will learn something usefull from this and maybe try out some of my tips!

dogdinshed.jpg

Firstly I make the most simple sketch I can, this is basically just a few loose shapes and lazy lines. Really anyone can do this.

dog1.jpg

Next I define the most appearant shapes. Try to think about what the object you are drawing is made of, the nose of my puppy is a very simple shape just sticking out of the dogs head and ears are just tiny triangles. I also add some lines that represent the puppys furr.

dog2.jpg

Next I simply lay the base color. For this, the base color is pretty much the lightest color of this puppy, because in the next steps I intend to darken his furr.

dog3.jpg

Simply shading, adding darker tones where they should go, regarding the light source.

dog4.jpg

Even more shading, but now I add a 'background' around the puppy so I can see ligh colors better and also so the puppy pops out a bit more.

5.jpg

I darken the background just a bit more, add some tiny details and now I add the light tones.

dog6.jpg

And lastly I change the colors a little bit, from simply black and white I shift it to slightly purple, I looks a lot warmer like that in my opinion and a lot nicer to the eye.

dogdinshed.jpg

This practice drawing didin't took me any more than an hour. I'm not trying too hard, I'm not putting too much time into it. After I'm done I look at it try to see what I could improve, make better. And when I'm making the next practice drawing I try to remember the mistakes I did in the last one and try not to make them this time. I do believe his type of practicing is way better than sitting on one drawing for a few hours. Because I belive drawing 100 faces is way better than drawing 10, but spending a lot of time on them. A lot of people think that quality > quantity, but with quantity comes quality, well at least from my experience.

I hope you learned something of value from this! See you next time with another process, I had a ton of fun making this one!

Sort:  

Very nice! You got talent! I'll be following you!

PS: I have found your post because @viking-ventures featured you in The Pay It Forward Contest

thank you!

Awesome post! I loved it so much that I decided to feature it in this week's entry to the Pay it Forward curation contest. As such, I have followed you and upvoted /resteemed your post. Keep up the great work!

thank you so much!

Hi, @wilnonis as you know @viking-ventures featured you in this week's @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest.

Both your walkthrough and art are very nice. With art, I agree with your thinking the more you practice the better you get. So keep it up!!
With writing it's very similar, depending on the type of writing you do. Your typing gets better, your vocabulary expands.

Dropping by and supporting your post @wilnonis, due to the entry of it, by @viking-ventures, into our Pay It Forward Community's weekly curation contest. As part of the @pifc community, we would encourage you to check into it.

With very limited time, I wanted to be sure and take the first step in showing support, prior to the expiration of Steem’s 7-day limit for payouts. As time allows, I will try to get back to provide you more personalized input into what you have written.

Thank you for your effort here to add value to our Steem blockchain!

¡Hola @wilnonis ! Te felicito, me encanto el tutorial, llegue a tu publicación por que @viking-ventures, presento tu post, en el Pay It Forward Curation Contest , estas invitado a participar

Congratulations @wilnonis, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 99

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie or @ocd but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Also each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the SBD generated from the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven to ten days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

Great explanation! You made it look easy :) Found you thanks to @viking-ventures and the @pifc contest. Keep up the good work!

Seriously great post! You make it seem so simple.....but you're very artistic too it seems! I know! I know!! ....we all are! 😂🤣 i enjoy digital art, my daughter does it. I wish for infinite time to have plenty of time to do all the things!! Haha ...poof!

Really amazing quality blog and craft! Pleasure to meet you!

Thank you so much, it's a pleasure to meet you as well!

Cool process, cute pupper!

Thanks to @viking-ventures, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Thank you so much!

Wow! You sounded like it is very easy when I am even having difficulty drawing stick people. 😂 Very good job!

The title of your post says "digital" so I wonder what app did you use to draw this.

I try to remember the mistakes I did in the last one and try not to make them this time

That is how life should be lived. Learn from our mistakes and move on from there. 😊

I came across your article through @viking-ventures who featured it on her post as an entry to the Pay It Forward Curation Contest. The contest is open to everyone so you are welcome to join us.

Thank you, I use photoshop :)

Do you usually print your drawing and put them on frames or use them for another artwork?

That is a good choice. I really love drawing even if I can not make a picture.

really good tutorial, nice work.

Thank you :)

I really love the eyes of the puppy and its purple fur, good drawing and the process too. I think I need to try this sometimes later @wilnonis.

Found your post through @viking-ventures entry post for the pay it forward contest this week. Keep Steem it On😉

Beautiful drawing of a doggo !!!! I love doggos :D Very nice step by step also, they show off your process well <3

upvotes and follows

Thank you so much! :)

1 upvotes for this post from me.Good job. @rdnblogs

A drawing that would make many happy. A good tutorial, besides. This is wonderful.

Thank you!

This is so cute! It reminds me of my dog. He died more than a year ago :(

You're a great artist. I see that you don't need my tips to draw snake skin, haha XD

It's a pity that my voting power is small. If you allow me, I could suggest that you join competitions to win prizes and more people could see you, but you're in the right path because it's always good to write a little more and show a step-by-step process.

It's a bit late, but Welcome to Steemit! :D

Aww im so sorry about your dog, I lost my fluffy buddy around a year ago too so I know how you feel :(

Thanks! And no, all the tips and trick are welcome and needed haha.

Thanks for your suggestion! I am not exactly new to steemit anymore, but I am kinda...really lost haha :D I will try to find some competitions and see where it gets me :)

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Because I belive drawing 100 faces is way better than drawing 10, but spending a lot of time on them.
It should be believe instead of belive.

Congratulations @wilnonis! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @wilnonis! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!