What The Font?

in #art7 years ago (edited)

For you graphic designers out there who hate font hunting, you're going to love this site.

I posted this about 8 months ago, but upon revisiting it I found that only about 3 people actually saw it, despite there being over 60 upvotes on it.

myfonts.com/WhatTheFont

I first started using this when I started working as a "graphic technician" for a large photo lab about 8 years ago. Anytime there was a word within a graphic which wasn't a live editable text layer within the file, I usually had to hunt down the font myself. And anyone that's ever gone font hunting knows this can be an hours-long endeavor.

By going to http://www.myfonts.com/WhatTheFont/, however, there is an option where you can upload a sample of the font you're trying to find.

This was incredibly handy for when I made the logo for the Steemit Talk Podcast.

I had no idea what font Steemit used for their logo, so rather than spend more time than I can afford hunting it down, www.whatthefont.com can just tell me what it is. When you upload it, it will first analyze the letters in the image to try and pinpoint which font it is, and it seems to have a pretty high accuracy rating.

It found the font for the Steemit logo right away.

I use this tool all the time when working on graphics, and I hope other graphic designers here will find it handy as well.



Sort:  

I use it as well and it's super good, but in addition if for some reason that site doesn't find the font you need you could use this site too — https://www.whatfontis.com/. Sometimes it can beat WhatTheFont because usually there are more alternatives (but they are not that accurate).

On the other hand WhatTheFont has a forum that is super useful if automatics doesn't work. The best font finding forum I know :)

WhatTheFont is a fantastic tool! 👍 #fonts

Thanks! Just a note — the direct link is here: http://www.myfonts.com/WhatTheFont/

Thanks for that! Updated!

Cool man, I have couple graphic designer friends that will love this. Thanks!

A trusty toolbox standard.

That is very useful link @winstonwolfe. Thanks

You're a life-saver! Thank you for sharing the font link. Following..

I have been looking for this since birth.. hahah.. nice blog bro.. upvoting and following @winstonswolfe