Existence of Art Even in Mundane Places

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Image_29460.png

Good day Steemians!

Art is a range of activities that are meant to be appreciated. It becomes so broad in range and scope that as long as it evokes the emotion of the author, it can be considered an art. On that broad range of what we consider as art, the oldest and most documented is visual arts.

I believe that art is everywhere and it takes different forms and mediums that one has to be able to distinguish it in its purest form. So today, I would like to share some of the photos that caught my attention.

Image_29277.png
Blue Ink on Paper at 10X Magnification

This photo is the very first photo I took using a Metallurgical Microscope. As a background, I was printing a document (colored) to be used in downloading an instruction to the operators in my process. While waiting for them for us to start the downloading (To be honest, I got bored while waiting), it just came to me to look at the print using the microscope which was used for appearance inspection of our products. To my surprise, the images at different magnifications were mesmerizing.

Image_29251.png
Black Ink on Paper at 50X Magnification

This one's my favorite. It's a black ink bold print. Due to the amount of ink printed on the surface of the paper, it leaves small depressions which looked like craters. I'm still wondering how a simple print would look like this when magnified.

Image_29257.png
Black Ballpoint Pen Written on Paper at 50X Magnification

After the downloading of instructions (education), I decided to look at other materials available using the microscope. This one is a black ballpen written on paper. The individual fibers of the paper are easily distinguishable.

Image_29279.png
Scissors' Edge at 20X Magnification

This is what a pair of scissor's metallic surface at the edge would look like when magnified 20X. The straight lines indicate that the pair of scissors is still sharp. Small rainbows are the result of light refracting and reflecting at the surface of the metal.

Image_29264.png
Adhesive Tape with Fingerprint at 20X Magnification

This photo an adhesive tape with my finger print on it. The finger print formed alternating patterns of embossed and depressed surfaces which are truly stunning.

Image_29250.png
Red Ink on Paper at 50X Magnification

This one is a red ink on paper, the same as that above but magenta has the highest amount percentage to form red; unlike the blue color which has the cyan as the highest amount percentage.

Image_29457.png
Sponge Cushion at 50X Magnification

This one is a sponge which was used to cushion and protect delicate spare parts from scratches and unnecessary damage. The thin plastic sheets formed at the center of intertwined networks acts as prism that refracts light. As light strikes the surfaces, it's separated into its component colors and reflected creating an enthralling effect.

I don't claim to be an artist, but I think I'm an art enthusiast. I appreciate beauty when it's meant to be appreciated.

I will always stress out that art is everywhere, even in the areas and things we least expect it to be. We just have to know how to look at it in order to appreciate it's true form. Even in dull and mundane things, there's something hidden in there. For us to appreciate the beauty it beholds, zooming in and out might be necessary.

Here are other photos:

Image_29266.png
Bem Cotton Fiber at 20X Magnification

Image_29265.png
Potassium Iodide Salt Crystal Deposits at 20X Magnification

Image_29272.png
Metal Rust at 100X Magnification

Image_29273.png
Double-sided Tape at 20X Magnification

Please share your thoughts about these photos and feel free to comment which one is your favorite.

Have a great day!

Best Regards,
@ybanezkim26

Sort:  

Wow! This is beyond macrophotography.

Indeed @hiroyamagishi! There's a lot to discover in the microscopic world.

I love the beauty in the detail of everyday items! These images are beautiful

Thank you @beautifulbullies! I'm glad that you love those images. The microscopic world is really different from what we see through the naked eye.

and a million times more interesting! :)

Omggg this is awesome @ybanezkim26!!! Never thought magnifying the things we normally see will give us such beauty!!!

For me, the sponge stood out the most. Nice one kim!

The sponge is my second best. Probably because there's a scientific explanation behind its beauty. But the one that stands out for me is the black ink. Maybe because it leaves me the impression that no matter how perfect it seems to be, there are flaws hidden in plain sight. And that's what makes it beautiful. Charot.

Anyway, thank you @smaeunabs for sharing your choice. I really appreciate truest intentions. Charot again. Hahaha

Indeed, there is more to the things we see than meets the eye.

Amazing kaayo pagka photograph! How did you do it? 😱

I used a metallurgical microscope. The image was in .tif format so I converted it to .png format and retained the highest quality possible. Haha

Woooow I never knew that would be possible! Amazing!!!

Technically, it's a trade secret. Hahaha. 😉

Nice work! Amazing what you can find through a microscope.

Thank you @erb! I was astonished when I saw it first that I made a decision to share it here.

Great post and quite informative!

Following you.

I am new on Steemit. Please do follow me back so we can stay in touch on steemit. Here's my introductory post. Please give it a thumbs up!

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@timesedge/my-introduction-ana-ederson

Thank you @timesedge! I've already given you my upvote on your introductory post. I hope you'll enjoy it here like I do.

These are good experiments!

Thank you @rinawonderlands! I just discovered them by accident. It means that art exists everywhere. We just have to find a way to appreciate them.

Yes true @ybanezkim26 thanks for sharing your discoveries. Maybe next time you can show us the process how to make this beautiful art photos 😉

I will try. I planned to have a post dedicated to Philippine banknotes that are magnified and maybe I can include the process that time. But no promises. Hahaha

These are so fascinating! I re-steemed it as my first resteem ever :) I LOVE macro photography and the discoveries you can make. It's like exploring a new world! Thanks for sharing your discoveries!

Thank you @drumvik! Rest assured that I will keep on sharing discoveries. It really keeps me going to know that people like you appreciates the art that I see.

I think they are all unique, and you reveal the beauty out of things we take for granted, very nice

Thank you @losthippie. We take them for granted because we them everyday. Little did we know that these things have something to offer more than their intended function.

woahh...weeks ago, my kuya took a blood sample of me and placed it under a microscope too! it was amazing to see the blood cells moving!somewhat similar to this!

Hi @junebride! Moving cells and bacteria are another area that I want to venture, but I don't have the time yet. It's also equally interesting.

I might share photos and videos of it in the future

I'm excited! Please don't hesitate.