Hi First Post

in #art5 years ago

Hello, I'm an artist/illustrator. Self taught. I like to paint and draw sci-fi and fantasy imagery. Nature is what inspires me the most I could say but narrative too. And games and comix and animation.

I'll share some pieces I painted in the past - hopefully some that I just recently painted too. Along my thought during the process.

During last year's first quarter I started releasing the personal illustrations I made as cc-0 public-domain in opengameart.org so if you want you can grab the source, mix it or print it or whatever you feel like.

Anyway. Second week of January I created this animated GIF.

demise-c.gif
I called it demise because... well it says demise at some point.

It all began with a naive sketch I made while working on a commission for @loreshapergames. While I was laying out some rough ideas for the commission I started a sketch, just to clear the mind. It was just the face of a girl or woman, with a hood and a robe. Nothing fancy. It looked like this:

Screen Shot 2019-01-20 at 11.54.47 PM.png
You can see all the rough ideas for the commission too.

I was working in hi res, so it was easy to make fine details, although I was aiming for simplicity.

actual-res.png
Actual resolution. Around 5000 x 3000 pixels whole document.

The sketch remained dusting until I came and decided to do something about it. I made this other sketch some time ago.

2018-09-07a-c.jpg

I posted it to opengameart (it is also published as public-domain so you can grab the source too). A user made a comment implying it would be cool to have a kind-of-storyboard in this style.

So at first I just wanted to do an action pose, like if she was using telekinesis or some kind of hex or dark sorcery.pose.jpg

Then I remembered about the storyboard the opengameart user suggested. And started sketching.

Screen Shot 2019-01-21 at 12.50.44 AM.png
Here I wanted her to be like grabbing the viewer and someone or something out of the field of view... like a boulder... if that makes any sense.

The guys that know what they do (call them consecrated artists) suggest to flip the canvas to have a 'new' view of the composition, layout, silhouette, etc... of your drawing or painting so you can easily correct "errors" that are not easily spotted. I find it pretty useful.

Then, following the storyboard idea, I thought of some kind of story where she was first in a friendly but melancholic mood. As if she was remembering good old times with the viewer (or player if this was a game) or 1st person character prior attacking him/her - not much to her liking. I imagined the robe to be some sort of magical entity so I wanted it to look fluid and alive. Thus first frame.

1.jpg
Screen Shot 2019-01-21 at 1.11.31 AM.png
Watching the horizon with a happy remembrance gesture.

I thought of writing some lines, a dialogue. Or monologue? In the bubbles. But I'm a crap of a writer so I left it like a weird alien, foreign or ancient writing. Then I thought it would be nice to have some captions in the lower section but again... I'm crappy with words.

Second frame. She just stares at viewer with mild anger.

2.jpg
Keeping silence.
Screen Shot 2019-01-21 at 1.30.41 AM.png
More of a reproach look.

It occurred to me that the robe was influenced by her feelings. So 'it should depict some of her emotions' I said to myself.

Frame three. She is reluctant to battle. She has to nevertheless.

3.jpg
Screen Shot 2019-01-21 at 1.41.00 AM.png
We catch the last glimpse of good will in her face.

Frame four. Attack pose! I imagined this frame to be in slow/suspended motion.

4.jpg
There's no clear semblance in her face.
Screen Shot 2019-01-21 at 1.56.02 AM.png
Because is being swallowed by darkness.

Five. Commencing attack.
5.jpg
Attack mode on.
Screen Shot 2019-01-21 at 1.58.23 AM.png
Aggression. Darkness.

Six. Finishing it.

6.jpg
Screen Shot 2019-01-21 at 2.00.07 AM.png

Rest is just some frames showing a splash of blood and a game continue screen. I opted to write demise instead of "you died".

So that's it. It's good to try to explain your thought behind the art you produce - although I don't know if I made a good job. Nice exercise. I'll be posting things like this. This was long because of several frames, but almost anything I do is just one frame so future posts should be easier and faster.

También hablo español. Así que haré un post en inglés y otro en español. O quizás posts bilingues. Ya veremos.

Abrazos! Hugs!

Sort:  

Nice graphics, love that style! Welcome :)

Welcome to Steem! Love the art. Followed!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looking good. welcome to steemit, there is quite a community of comics artists here, you might want to check out e.g. @katharsisdrill ,@drwatson , @stahlberg or @kommienezuspadt theres many more but these were the ones that popped into my head .

Thanks a lot for the recommendations! I'll have a look in their profiles. I already know katharsisdrill and his work from *Diaspora. Cool stuff.

Welcome! A great animation - I will show it to my daughter, @scaræet-rain, who is working with the Krita animation interface these days.

It is good to see more creatives joining. This place is all about helping the good things along so I will try to reshare and promote your posts. I wrote a post with some explanation and advice for newcomers.

What is your profile on Diaspora?

Thanks man! I go in *D as マヌエル. Very useful your post for newbies, although i empty my RC on first day just commenting .-_-.

A, Zonked! Cool. The RC system is a bit annoying for people who just started!

Super cool works! Love those black and white composition!! I wish I have talents like you do, thank you for sharing!

Welcome! I’m really into your style! The animation is a feast for the eyes and I love how her arms look when she’s in attack mode. Maybe it’s from the contrast of the white on black, it’s very dramatic.

Thanks! Glad you like it. Yes is kind of dramatic I have to admit, but that was the aim, simple and high contrast in every sense.


Welcome to Steemit @znkd!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Thanks! Got to check out those links ;)

Good to see you here! Great work like always.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

I am glad to see you introducing yourself on Steemit! It can be complicated, but let me suggest some helpful tips! It is important to post quality content and to comment on other user's content so people can get to know you, and you can start earning STEEM!

Feel free to comment, upvote & resteem our content so that you can start to earn Steem!

We hope that helps!

Best,

@charitycurator

Thanks curator!

You are welcome!

Welcome znkd!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you for sharing
I resteem it free to my +2200 followers and upvote for support your post.
@dumitriu
Visit #dumitriu and follow me!

Thank you! I'll check your profile too.

Hey bro welcome on Steemit!
Nice illustrations :) I make pictures of nature, so maybe they inspire you :)
I followed you check out my blog too! :D

Thanks man! I'll check your pictures you bet on it :)

Welcome to Steem znkd! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Hi,

Greetings and welcome to Steemit.

Thanks! I'll explore more in depth this network in the night. Looks promising.

Thanks! I'll explore more
In depth this network in the
Night. Looks promising.

                 - znkd


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Hi,

This is a lovely introductory post, Thank you for taking the time to write the post and say hello to the community!

I am here to help!

I would encourage you to keep posting and comment on others users content to help make a name for yourself and to get the most out of the platform!

Feel free to comment on my content and I'll up vote your comments! Drop me a follow so you can comment a lot and get a lot of my upvotes!

I have upvoted your post!

Luppers :)

Thanks Luppers! I'll go and check on your content.

Some truly marvellous work you do there wow. If I am ever in need of an illustrator for a project I will feel free to drop you a line yeah?

Welcome to Steem as well! This place has become somewhat underappreciated with the falling prices but those few who stick around and continue their work will probably be way ahead once everybody else returns.

Since you do such marvellous illustrations feel free to use the tag artzone in your other posts. It's an upvote community that rewards awesome artwork like yours and can help you get a great start.
As others have already remarked, it's a good idea to interact with people via comments so whenever you see something on Steem you dig, let the author know. Networks build quite naturally that way.

Anyways, looking forward to seeing much more of your awesome skills, and welcome again to the platform!
Followed <3

Thanks! I appreciate your words. I'll keep in mind the tag artzone for upcoming posts, and of course if you need illustration I'm available :D

HEy buddy thanks for the artzone shout out!! Let me give you a lil upvote :)

Nice! Welcome to Steem and let us know your work :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! I hope to keep a steady posting pace. I'm kind of very lazy when social-networking. But gonna make an effort.

Welcome :)

Thanks! Pure warm welcomes here :)

Welcome! I’m quite new at this myself. Great stuff, I like The simplicity and silence, ending raw, violent and chaotic!
Looking forward to see what Else you have in your drawer.

Thanks mate! I have various works that may not be so theatrical, but gonna try to make interesting posts about them.

Congratulations @znkd! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Cool badges!

Znkd welcome to the great community of Steemit, YESS You are a new Steemian now! I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you.
Blogging, building and uplifting eachother is what steemit needs and what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money too.💴💸💰
I never blogged before I started but I just do. But always be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !!
For safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11. The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. Or read this blog
https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote
I wish you good luck with steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Your value and input is appreciated!
Good luck with your journey and may you find what you are looking for.
Just remember that all good things come in good time and never giving up is they key to big succes on Steemit.
Please vote for a witness to. Also you could join the SteemTerminal Discord.
Or visit @heyhaveyamet #HHYA and My friend @xcountytravelers for more newbies exposure.
Let me know if this was helpfull or you need more help.
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands

Yes really helpful! Thanks for the warm welcome and the tips. I'll check your friend's profiles too. I have now so much to check out :P

Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks Lord Vdr! Very interesting platform.

Hullo! Welcome to Steemit :D Love your animation ! Your brush strokes are very delicious and expressive * ___ *

Wishing you loads of success here at Steemit, and if you ever need to network with other artists, come join Steem Artists' discord :D

We socialize and help each other succeed \o/
https://discord.gg/ENN8KCb

Hey thanks for the kind words! I'll check the discord channel for sure.

Wow! What a great intro post. And an awesome animation sequence too... I really like it :D.
                       
Welcome to Steemit, I hope you will stay around and make some new friends on this platform. Good luck and have fun :).


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Love your art! Welcome to the community. Definitely look forward to seeing more.

That's some cool art. I've got to know a load of #comics artists on Steem and I think you will fit in well. Looking forward to seeing more

Wow! Welcome to Steem! Bienvenido y disfruta de la experiencia!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Really cool! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Really nice stuff! I've immediately followed you and can't wait to see more of your posts :-)

Cg

welcome to steemit , i wish you a fun and safe time here with us. Really creative work, and stay true to who you are; good luck♡ 🐲ℒℴve 🐉♡

Beautiful ! Welcome to Steem.
Hopefully we will read more from you soon.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Amazing work! Welcome to steemit!

Wow! Awesome work! Look forward to seeing more! I'm a sucker for fantasy art. Frank Frazetta is probably my favorite.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh man yeah pure muscle, beasts, babes and steel with Frazetta! I also love the work of Syd Mead & John Berkey although is more Sci-fi oriented.

Congratulations @znkd!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade for newcomers in the following categories:

  • Comments - Ranked 3 with 53 comments
  • Pending payout - Ranked 7 with $ 8,47

I also upvoted your post to increase its reward
If you like my work to promote newcomers and give them more visibility on the Steem blockchain, consider to vote for my witness!

This is pretty amazing, @znkd. I like how working on one thing can cause something else to spring to life. And while you were going for simplicity, I like the feeling of intricacy that these inked drawings give. There's a lot going on.

I've been looking for some way to present a graphic story that's not static, so I like what you've done here with the gif. It provides a sense of motion that I really like. There's a greater sense of what's happening, and it's more impactful this way, though standalone is awesome, too. Stills are brilliant.

Great work. :)

Thanks! Yes is cool when something brings other stuff to life... I think the cosmos kind of work in this way.

Good work! and welcome. following now.

This post is sponsored and featured by @Appreciator in collaboration with @c-squared. Just keep up the good work.

Could not stop looking at your GIF, its perfectly done, every detail is so intense and beyond awesome.
Definitely would like to see your upcoming Artwork.

Welcome to Steemit!
Very nice Art and I love your narration.

This is great, following!

welcome también soy nueva

Gracias! Y bienvenida también!

Cool stuff. I also do art and lean toward mostly ink. I hope I am able to learn a bit from you. Cheers. :^)

Front Cover CFQv3 preview.jpg

Thanks man. Great monsters! And you have a ton of them o

Hey @znkd
I found your post through the @heyhaveyamet initiative.
your illustrations are awesome!

I delegated 35SP to your account, so you have a little more freedom to post and comment without running out of Resource credits.

I'll be publishing a post later today or tomorrow in which I'll explain it all and give you some tips on how to grow your account. I'll be tagging you in it, so keep an eye out (you can get notifications of mentions through the Partiko app or via Ginabot)

Wow man thank you very much I did run out of RC twice commenting and following hahaha. Thanks again. Can't wait for that post.

You're welcome. :0)
Since it's past 1am here, the post will have to wait till tomorrow; I really need to get some sleep.
Do remember you're not completely safe from running out of RC, you can do a lot more, but it's not unlimited yet.
You can keep track at https://steemd.com/@znkd

rc.jpg

OMG! This is sooo good. I'm already a huge fan. The way you portrayed the character with just a few lines is impressive. Wish I had thought of that organic cloak before! You nailed it!

I draw a comic I have been sharing here on Steemit for 2 years. I sometimes have a hard time finding a catchy punch line too...

Anyway... You got yourself a new follower. I resteemed your post too because it's such a good one. I'll check for some more! ;-)

Wow!
Awesome painting!
Love your style!!

Posted using Partiko Android