Sketch of Vietnamese girls and mechs

in #art4 years ago

thumb.jpg

I'm sleeping, but gonna throw this post, cuz the art is fresh. Today instead of working I procrastinated. I started my work day warming up, usually I only sketch nonsense to warm up, like shapes without a particular form, lines, scribbles and ellipses(tons of em). I've noticed that I'm going in circles I don't feel like improving, and I guess is because I'm drawing without an aim, also I have a very poor visual language, so I thought of beginning sketching things that interest me, things I like and things I've never drawn before, also things I find difficult. I already tried drawing random things and sometimes it serves well but it is a bit lot boring. I like ethnic garments and people, among a lot of other things, but original people - as in indigenous or maintaining the original ways or ancient ways - fascinates me. Also ancient and monolithic architecture, technology, insects etc... It is difficult to me to draw people in casual poses and realistic or semirealistic clothes. So I was looking to photos on the internetz and came across a photo of Vietnamese kids with gorgeous garments, I sketched two of the girls:

c1.jpg

And I was supposed to continue my day working in an animation commission etc... but I just wanted to let the hand flow and draw whatever popped out. So I did:

c2.jpg

I thought of contrasting their natural expressions and poses with some hard tech stuff, I didn't planed much nor designed well the outcome, there's no perspective or coherence in the mech's drawings, but it felt nice to let go a little. Just flow without thinking too much.

Then I thought of adding a few colors, and at the end I made a little illustration out of the sketch.

mechavietgirls.jpg
full res here if you wanna see

So there they are... two girls with their respective guardian/spirity-mascot/vehicle/whatnot/mecha.

Here's a gif with some layers during the process:

![c3.gif](
It's been a while since I did one of these gifs!

And... someone may wanna follow @axolotl.rosa he may throw his first post here soon. He's my buddy irl and we're not-secretly working on a videogame, a 2d-topdown-pixel art-action-perhaps rpg-adventure game, very much in the likes of hyper light drifter... but quite different and I may say a bit ambitious. He'll be coding and I'll make the art/animations and musix/sfx... Or at least that's the idea. I think he's gonna be dev-blogging here, so soon we'll both be posting stuff related to the game. We wanna crowdfund it but first we need to show the idea and make a trailer and document our goals and in general conceptualize good the thing.

BTW @thilah I have not forgotten that animation I owe you ;) soon I hope it will be

Sort:  

love it!

Thanks mate! Cool avatar ;)

Yes, it's made by a really great artist ;)

bwahaha good one mate - cheers!

Woahh I love the way you coloured this! And ooh can't wait!(I mean I can wait just take as much as you need~)

Thanks! I'm a little overwhelmed with work, that's why today I just let it flow ~

But yeah it's in my head spinning that thilah's animu.

I just love how casual the oldschool traditionally garbed little girls are with the chunky mechs XD did they paint them too? As that would be adorable :)

You are verycorrect! They painted them. Or at least that's what I was thinking when drawing the piece :V.

What started as an ordinary drawing of two little girls ended up being an interesting fantasy illustration that provoked a world-building story in my head. Awesome work!

Thanks! And... would you like to tell us 'bout that world-building story precious O_o

Sure! ^^ Probably doesn't sound that impressive or thought-provoking to you, and it doesn't have something to do with Vietnamese people/culture either but...

They are sisters who live in a small peaceful village, away from the war and chaos that's going on between the two major kingdoms, hidden behind a deep forest on a high land where the day is warm and the night is so cold, hence their clothing. But, with the chaos spreading across the land, the village's chiefs are getting worried that it'll eventually reach their village. Until these two sisters found these mechs in an ancient ruin and accidentally re-activated them. For some reason, the mechs aren't hostile towards them and the villagers. In fact, they are very friendly. The village's old and only oracle notices the markings on the mechs, and says these mechs have something to do with their ancestors, their ancestry line, the conflict, the power to 'control the mountain and the forest', the land itself, and the miracle that saved them in the past. When asked if there's more of these mechs, the oracle's eyes start glowing and she mutters incomprehensible languages before fainting. She told the chiefs to go 'look for the sign on the trees', and 'hear the calling through the rocks' if they want to save themselves. When some of them try to look into the ancient monolithic ruin that the girls explored, they found nothing but a couple of old children toys, which only add to the mystery.

...something like that. .-.

Maaaaan! It's freaking great! I actually visualized it like a lore intro of a videogame. And the camera movements and narrator, the environments, characters haha. All with your stylized 3D art of course ;) Maybe we could work together in a bright future :D Thanks for this mind-candy mate.

Interesting, I actually visualized it in the style of this particular illustration of yours XD
Sometimes I feel a bit childish? I think? For thinking about fantasy world like this so much, but it's good to find out that other people do too and appreciate it. And ooh, working as a gamedev artist would be great, I'm sure ^^

Yeah! We're not alone mate... even though sometimes world tell us so. There will be always others to resonate with, even though it may be difficult to cross paths with them.

Don't feel childish, all stories, animations, videogames, art we cherish and inspire us are made by mature adults who work hard to develop skills in art and other disciplines through diligence, intelligence and by studying and observing. That and imagination, creativity and admiration for the simple things is something that imo makes us humble and always more in tune with nature and life itself XD.

Super genial, Wei. Tu concept art es otro nivel!!!

Gracias hermano! Aunque estoy bien verde aún jaja.

Ahora imagínate a mi 😅

Absolutely love the style of illustration and colors, beautiful! I have included this post in my weekly curation Ocean of Art!

Thanks for the warm words :) and wow thanks for including the post!

Outstanding work as always!

Thanks my friend! Good to see you around again.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks once again for the support <3!

I enjoy your artwork @znkd … and congratulations on your nomination by OCD curator for special mention and reward.

Enjoy the day.

Thanks! Glad you enjoy the art. Didn't know about that nomination o.o. Nice!

Congratulations @znkd! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Revolution! Revolution!
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!