Evolving as an artist

in #art7 years ago (edited)

FullSizeRender 2.jpg

I do not have any art degrees or formal training. I am currently paving my way towards inciting interest amongst institutions to exhibit my art. My tentative strategy entails:

Create more. Post about the creation process and/or prototypes of what has been and/or in the process of being created. (I see this stage lasting for about two more years before I approach venues of potential interest. I have been working on my current series for one year.)

Arrange some in-person meetings with yet-to-be-identified-relevant-individuals to critique my art and willing to respect that my feelings are irrelevant in my aim to extract honest feedback.

Select the best pieces from several portfolios, and arrange them into One. That One Portfolio that will get reviewed everywhere.
Approach local galleries and other venues of potential interest.

I need to evolve as an artist some more before I make my approach. This is where the SteemIt community comes in. I would appreciate constructive feedback from ya’ll lovely people to improve my output and be the best artist I can be for the genres I create.

Type of sort to gravitate towards my art? The philosophical and introspective, perhaps.

Questions to the audience:

What kind of art do you value?

What kind of art do you collect?

What makes art worthwhile to discuss?

What do you find aesthetically pleasing?

The painting above is free to whoever wants it, unless somebody wants to trade it for crypto; I'll likely go for the ladder. You can email me at zerotetrahedron369 at protonmail.

Upcoming post: A contest for the SteemIt community to win some of my pieces.

Sort:  

Love your style and the above painting you display! I enjoy art for many different reasons, depending on what it is - but the common denominator for me is that it has to be inspiring, beckoning me onto the idea of the art form bursting forth into creation through it's medium - the artist :) Art has a life of it's own <3

wow you are a phd scientist - had I known that when I first read that other post - it makes more sense - in your world phd means a lot - in OUR world not so much. Hey - good for you to check out our world in taking a break from phd scientist land... enjoy yourself. I have an mfa - but it really means nothing unless I want to teach - and I can't stand academia... so it gives a li'l credability in adult ed and other junk but I am way too fringe for it to really matter.... really you want to give the piece away? I have not had much luck with that myself... try it though maybe you will - maybe give it to a friend. Or - you could make a body of work and then hang it up in an alley and see what happens to it - but better yet - maybe have some shows at your house - if you have a nice apartment or house - hang your work up, invite people over to see your "show" have wine and cheese - and talk art - or invite a few friends to "show with you" - this is what Gracie Mansion did in her bathroom in the 80s in NYC and she became a famous Gallery http://art-nerd.com/newyork/gracie-mansion-gallery-site/ read about it here - she just had balls

I have a bunch of my older art that I no longer feel the need to hold on to, and feel inspired to give away.

That oval piece is an example of one such pieces. I created it over ten years ago. If anybody wants it, they can have it.

I am in the process of getting ride of a lot of my possessions. My little children (art) can go off and have their own adventures.

An art show at my place. The thought did come to me some time ago, but wasn't sure if it was a good idea. Hearing it from you, it sounds better than I had imagined. Thanks for that one. I feel motivated to take action in that direction now.

I have a bunch of small canvas pieces that I have in mind of hanging up at random places throughout downtown LA during the next monthly art walk... anybody who comes to art walk and does not have $$$ to buy art, has the opportunity to own art they randomly find at no cost if they desire to pick it up from where they found it.

that sounds GREAT - of course, you would have to tell them it's free somehow - with a sign or something - please let me know how these shows work out - OR better yet- document them on steemit with articles!!! People will LOVE to read about this - you can even attract MORE attention if you use the Steemit logo in your adventures - somehow - like make it a fundraiser for someone on steemit or a way to tell people about steemit in that way you can use the steemit tag and get even more people paying attention to what you are doing... I am going to think about that myself - I have a first friday art walk coming up - I could dedicate it to steemit somehow - not sure HOW exactly right now...