Monthly art review #1 - October 2020

in #artzone3 years ago

I've decided to start a review of my work, mostly for my own benefit. I am often swallowed up by the day-to-day commotion and sometimes it does me good to take a step back and see the broader picture...

For example, this October I only sold 4 NFTs (Non-Fungible Tokens)... a total of £111 (roughly 10% of the national minimum wage!)...so, pretty depressing right?

But, despite the poor sales, there are things to feel good about this month...

Maya bee eater sm.jpg'Maya Bee-eater', from my ko-fi page (see below)

New artwork
I minted four new NFTs in October:

'From another time', on NFTshowroom, continues my 'conservation art' series. A 10/10 edition featuring the quirky and curious Ground Hornbill bird. And 25% of the sales will go to funding a conservation charity that helps these unique birds in South Africa The Mabula Ground Hornbill Project.

I also minted 3 pieces on Rarible: 'Daes irae' (Day of wrath), a one-off piece inspired by some of my favourite artists (J.M.W. Turner and John virtue) - 3/3 edition. 'Tree of sorrows' was a fun piece for Halloween, re-worked from a previous painting. 31/31 editions to represent the 31 days in October...but any unsold work was to be burned at the end of the month! Finally, 'Cloud study No.3', 16/16 edition artwork, continuing this series (more on this in a future post!).

Oct 2020 Hiveblog image1.jpgMy newly minted NFTs

Art collection
I bought four artworks this month, all from Rarible. Lulu xXX, Gary Cartlidge, Lapin Mignon and This Giddy Future. Four marvellous and creative artists. I'm super happy I managed to snaffle these for my little collection!

Oct 2020 Hiveblog image2.jpg
My new gems

Social Media
Twitter followers went up from 280 to 381 in October! Amazing growth for me (I spent about 5 years sat at 100 followers and this only started to grow once I got into crytpoart twitter)!

Rarible followers grew this month from 85 to 183!! This month I was also verified on Rarible, which I think helped people to see me as a more legit artist on that platform.

Collaborations
I was lucky enough to work with the wonderfully creative Lapin Mignon on 'Aquabizarre #12 - the sea creature' (below), which, at the time of writing, is currently on auction on opensea.

ElXlCVqXYAAajMd.jpeg
My collab with Lapin Mignon

And I got involved with another collaboration with Lapin Mignon and An0nym0usNobody on their children's book: 'Humble Bee Bumble Bee and the impossible flight (special edition)'. Cryptoartists were asked to colour in each page. In total, 21 amazing artists took part to create this unique NFT!

humblebee bumble bee.jpegSome of the great artists involved in the Humble Bumble bee project!

Art in SomniumSpace!
Another amazing event this month, was getting my art into a virtual reality art gallery, thanks to NaturalWarp. I now have two pieces on display at the Artists Lounge alongside some incredible artists. 'Impression of lillies' and 'White pixel dawn' are both available for purchase here

somniumspace pics Oct2020.jpeg
My two paintings on display at theArtists Lounge

#EndSARS auction
Also, I donated a specially made artwork to Danil pan, who will be running an auction early in November to help this cause. From his tweet:

"It’s official, November 3rd-November 6th we'll be auctioning donated artworks
live at @1155ArtGallery Auction house in telegram, featuring artists worldwide
to help Nigeria in light of the #LekkiMassacre 100% proceeds to go towards
donations/funds to end SARS."

Non-crypto artwork
I still do a lot of work in the 'traditional' art world too, including my pet portraits. This month I have completed several 'pet sketches' (2-3 hour black and white sketches) and a full colour commission (below).

charlie and holly sm.jpg'Charlie and Holly' 2020, private commission

Also, monthly subscribers to my kofi page (which costs only £3 a month!!) get a one-off, unique artwork each month, with an inspirational quote. This month it was 'Maya Bee-Eater' (the first picture in this blog).

Conclusion
I was getting pretty depressed at my lack of sales this month. Fortunately, I decided to write down everything I'd achieved in the cryptoart space over the last 31 days. Quite honestly, I'm shocked at how much positivity and progress I have made!

So October taught me this: The road can be long and hard, but for those that stop and take notice, the views are worth it!

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @adamfryda-art! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Next Hive Power Up Day is November 1st 2020
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge