You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🎨 Town XIV - the painting that took me 20 years to finish

in #artzone6 years ago

There is always some painting lurking somewhere that is waiting to be finished or paid attention to, isn't there.

When we moved to our current spot I slowly moved things from my old studio to my newer space here and found old paintings I had completely forgot about. Sometimes I'll hang them for the season on the wall of my studio to see if I want to go back in and sometimes they just stay there, adorn the wall and then get slid back into a rack at the end of Summer, waiting to be called upon again.

Having someone want the piece is a definite motivator and sometimes is all we need. I have also taken an old piece and added to it and covered bits and just really took it in a new direction.

There really is so much 'playing God' in art, we artists get to decide who stays, who goes and whether a tidal wave of paint will descend upon the world we painted and reshape it completely.

I love that I can't decide if the background is snow capped moutains, or fossilized chalk cliffs. A great piece and I'm glad it got finished.