🎨 Town XIV - the painting that took me 20 years to finish

in #artzone6 years ago

A few weeks after I started this painting back in 1994 I got stuck with it. I didn't know how to finish it, my motivation was gone, I messed up. I knew I would continue with it at some point, but I didn't expect it would take me 20 years to finally get back to it. Then in 2014 one of my collectors saw and loved the painting and he asked me if I can finish it. So I finished it!

Town XIV, 1994-2014

Acrylic on fiberboard
60 x 80 cm / 23.62 x 31.5 in
Private collection / Germany

Details


www.gric.at

Sort:  

wow - never realized that we have something like this in common! I have a piece in my studio that probably goes back even further than that - I "rescued" it in 2016 from the recesses of a storage closet in my Canadian House and brought it back to Austria, but so far, I am just smearing left-over colors on it as glazes in parts (about 3/4 done), but may not get to it because I have other projects in mind right now.
Always good to have a collector give you the extra "push". Nobody had asked me to finish mine, lol

I still have a few "leftovers" which desperately need such a push!

Wow.. This is just perfect!!

Thank you @nmalove and also many thanks for featuring my painting at @artzone!

Great that you finished it. Restemeed!

Thank you Mirjana!

amazing, Peter. xx

Thank you Libalein! :-)

So the destiny of this masterpiece is not be forgotten in your studio

Yes! :-)

You have been featured on @artzone.

Courtesy of @nmalove

Fantastic! Thank you guys!

There is always some painting lurking somewhere that is waiting to be finished or paid attention to, isn't there.

When we moved to our current spot I slowly moved things from my old studio to my newer space here and found old paintings I had completely forgot about. Sometimes I'll hang them for the season on the wall of my studio to see if I want to go back in and sometimes they just stay there, adorn the wall and then get slid back into a rack at the end of Summer, waiting to be called upon again.

Having someone want the piece is a definite motivator and sometimes is all we need. I have also taken an old piece and added to it and covered bits and just really took it in a new direction.

There really is so much 'playing God' in art, we artists get to decide who stays, who goes and whether a tidal wave of paint will descend upon the world we painted and reshape it completely.

I love that I can't decide if the background is snow capped moutains, or fossilized chalk cliffs. A great piece and I'm glad it got finished.

Good painting, Peter. Sometimes it does not matter how much time is spent, most importantly, what a result we have.

Fantastic draw i loved the painting 😍 😍 😍 😍 😍 😍 😍 😍 😍 😍 😍

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

I wonder when really an artistic work concludes? I think that it never gives itself finished.
Good work.

There is a point when a painting starts getting worse if you keep working on it. It's all about finding this point.

Do you sell high resolution images? I would love to print this one as poster!

I don't sell digital data of my paintings but you can order limited prints in my web shop: http://www.gric.at/shop/prints.htm
Poster of some of my paintings can be ordered here: https://www.posterlounge.de/kuenstler/peter-gric/

I just ordered the Android Awakening (Softcover) book!
Just amazing stuff!

Glad to hear that! Thanks!