You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I love gesture drawing

in #artzone6 years ago

Very interesting.

I'll follow to see what you have to say in the future about drawing.

I've never really done this type of drawing before, but I have done super quick sketches before and found it interesting, to say the least. I was surprised how well I could do pushing myself to draw quickly, even in only a few seconds.

I have no doubt that such exercises would be deeply beneficial for an artist.

Sort:  

When I first started the only feeling that I had was panic. I was actually drawing way below my ability at the time because I was paying so much attention to the clock! I think that the key with short poses is pacing. Not too fast, not too slow.

I never used an actual clock. I hate literally timing myself. I just tried to be quick as possible.

I imagine if I did use a clock, it would have upped the stress.

It is certainly more stressful at first but I enjoy pushing myself and if it doesn't work out it's fine. It was only a few minutes after all!