Back from the Abyss, something about Digital Art

in #artzone6 years ago

"In and of itself, paint is paint. Photography and collage are no longer anything new.
And, since we already know that art is not about the tools used to make it, we might ask, so what's new about digital art?
For well over two hundred years the world of fine art and its counterpart in academia have been driven by the notion of stylistic identification and innovation thus creating the age of "isms". Art work has come to be judged either by how well it fits into an existing style, or is favored most when it breaks beyond these barriers and delivers something all together and strikingly new.
For digital art to join in this time honored game, to become present in the world of Fine Arts, it must move beyond mimicry of traditional media and forge new visual ground."

JD Jarvis wrote this in an article about 15 years ago and it's actuality is out of doubt!

Let me show you today a piece that I like very much because in my opinion it is on it's way to this visual ground my friend JD was writing about.

steem 3.jpg


"Back from the Abyss"

back from the Abyss steem.jpg

steem 2.jpg


THE BETTER YOU LOOK THE MORE YOU SEE
ezgif.com-gif-maker-1.gif

Sort:  

This is so interesting, as I now do much of my work digitally, but coming from oils and printmaking, I often find I simply work in the same way, with a palette to mix my 'oils' even overpainting with transluscent whites in between 'drying' layers.

I love it though and hope, in the growing digital world, that it can still be viewed as art. It's still meant to evoke contemplation in the viewer, but I do love the look of the brush stroke. But, who can say, it may morph and develop.

The best bit of digital art is that I can have an endless supply of iterations of one of my digital paintings and change and add to it ad infinitum. This idea and the very idea of digital ownership as well as digital viewing and experiencing of art is vastly changing the art world.

Not since the mid Victorian times with Photography has the art world had such a change, that is starting small, but will rush in and force a new perspective on making, viewing, and owing art. It's a fun time to be an artist!

...if you are missing the smell of your paint...I guess there could be found a solution to this.

Well I still keep a traditional studio and I can easily go out and play about and get the smell of my paint. When I am painting digitally sometimes it's as if my sense memory almost fills my nostirls with the smell of terps and I have been known to brush my hand on my drawing tablet forgetting it isn't a real piece of paper.

The physical and the digital are beginning to merge and I'm loving it.

very interesting and bold ! the textures are very bold :> i also like the colours you worked with here, shades of different blue, and gold <3 beautiful :>


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Krass!!! 😵

thanks...I sent you an animation on your message board in facebook...if it's too small to view I can send a bigger version via your mail...

🎉 Congratulations @whornung! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.
image

Thanks for this...it's always better to be looked over than to be overlooked.

it is painting???......................

...I thought it was not about the tools it was made with, but about the emotional impact of what you see.