KC's Vault, Ep 1. The Dream: University of the Philippines

in #aseanhive2 years ago (edited)

Colorful Scrapbook Nostalgia Class Syllabus Blank Education Presentation.gif

I had a dream.

Well, just like any other kids and children at their most early stages in life, I was a dreamer. A most insistent dreamer, at that. Growing up with my sisters and one brother, I was aware of a lot of things even when a lot of people considered me too young to be knowledgeable on things.

Yesterday, I felt whole. When I first set foot in the university, my dream university, I was feeling all kinds of emotions. It was just a dream before, but now, it was my own version of reality. I was a full-fledged “iskolar ng bayan.”

2.png

When I was young, especially when I started to be aware of the importance of my education. My focus was all on that one thing–becoming an achiever. I was so competitive to the point where I stressed myself so much. Every time people ask me when did I ever learn about the University of the Philippines or UP, I always answered that my father was the one who influenced me the most in almost every aspect of my education.

My father is a smart man. He was one of the reasons why I valued my education so much than the others of my age. I still remember that day when he told me about the so-called “university for the smartest individuals.” I was amazed and a part of me wanted to be just like those people my father was talking about. I wanted to be labeled as smart and intelligent.

Even when I was already doing great in school, because of what my father said, I started to dream bigger things. UP became that paramount and pinnacle dream I had on my list. So, imagine when I finally passed for admission to UP? Happy was an understatement, the emotions I had when I received the email that I passed were very real and raw. It was a surreal moment for me.

4.png

Yesterday, was when it finally dawned on me that I was finally able to become an iskalar or in English, it is called “scholar.” If I can go back in time, I wouldn’t change anything with how persistent I was to achieve more in my studies. I would not become who I am right now if not for my mistakes and strong will in the past. To finally see my name as one of the students of my dream university is a whole other positive feeling.

I have been to a lot of campuses and universities, and I know there are a lot of places that are more beautiful than the Cebu Campus but I guess it's the feeling and the ambiance that totally surrounds the place which made me squeal in front of the gate.

3.png

Another most iconic statue in all UP Campuses is the statue of Oblation or we refer to it as Oble. It is a very interesting piece of art that depicts a man facing upward into the sky. His arms outstretched which internally symbolizes the selfless offering of oneself to his country. The one who designed it was National Artist Guillermo Tolentino and his masterpiece has served as a rallying point for selfless action for the nation’s interest. It is as what many refer to as “for the nation, for the people.”

Looking back now that I am in my 2nd semester of my freshman year, I am most grateful that I had a dream even when i was too young to dream.

It was a dream.
I had a dream.
I made it happen.

5.png

Just like me, I know that there are a lot of people out there that have dreams and aspirations in life. I can only say one thing, dream big and dream while you can make it happen. We need not to hesitate to making it become a reality because we can when we blieve in ourselves.

Colorful Scrapbook Nostalgia Class Syllabus Blank Education Presentation (1).gif

So keep on dreaming, keep on chasing dreams.

See you next time and always remember to live life with no regrets.

Yours Truly,
Just “KC”

6.gif

Sort:  

I'm also from UP Cebu hehe

Hi, fellow iska! hope to see you there in campus someday <3

Just like me, I know that there are a lot of people out there that have dreams and aspirations in life. I can only say one thing, dream big and dream while you can make it happen. We need not to hesitate to making it become a reality because we can when we believe in ourselves.

--> THIS!!!! I cannot agree more!
I'm so proud and happy that you got what you dreamed of, KC! ♥️ Keep on dreaming big dreams and achieving them✨😘 I know, with your potential, talent and intelligence, you'll go faaarrr👏😍💖

This is so sweet, Ate @jongcl. Thank you for being an inspiration 😘

Congrats KC! soar high!

Thank you so much! 😍

:) yay. Dream on..

I will! And, thank you 😍

Congratulations @kyliveslife! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 100 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 250 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!