You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ask Steemit: What is the craziest thing you have done to save money? 你为了省钱而做过最疯狂的事情是什么?

in #asksteemit7 years ago

I went to study at a state university in the US many many years ago. The foreign exchange rate at that time was 1:40. As an impoverished graduate student, I needed to work part time. The lowest salary was less than 2 dollars (USD) per hour. But it cost at least 5 USD to cut hair for women. It would cost much more to go to a hair dresser. Before I went abroad, I had my hair curled twice a year. To save money, my husband and I took turns to cut hair for each other. We had brought tools for the job.

However, after my husband got his PhD and left the US, I had to cut my own hair. I did it by looking at a mirror. It was difficult for me to cut my hair at the back. I had to ask my child, a primary school pupil to help me. I gave instructions and she did the cutting. The result? Well, OK!

多年前我到美國讀書,在那𥚃住了五年,這期間從未回家,直到獲得學位。那時候台灣40塊錢才能換到美金一塊錢,匯率是1:40。我需要去打工,當時最低工資:時薪不到兩塊錢美金,而女生剪一次頭髮最少要五美元,燙髪更高出好幾倍價錢。我出國前,在台灣每半年燙一次頭髮。到了美國,頭髮不燙了。為了省錢,我和我先生都互相剪頭髮,從來不去理髮店。出國的時候我們就已經準備好要用的工具:剪刀。但是我先生比我早拿到學位,就先回台灣了,留下我和孩子。我只好一個人對著鏡子,拿著剪刀自己剪,但是後面的部分不好剪,只好讓我當時還在就讀國小的孩子幫忙,我一面指揮,她一面剪。結果呢?差強人意!還可以走出家門去見人。

Sort:  

Haha, auntie, was it Sue who you asked to cut your hair? Sounds like a tough time in your lives.

Yes, it was. It’s all over now. Thank the Lord! All ends well.