Ask Steemit: What is the craziest thing you have done to save money? 你为了省钱而做过最疯狂的事情是什么?

in #asksteemit7 years ago

Ask Steemit是一个我在英文区开始的帖子。希望中文区的朋友们也能够来参加。
你为了省钱而做过最疯狂的事情是什么?


Announcing the winners from the previous week

The question from the previous week was What is a habit you’ve developed that has significantly improved your well being or productivity You can read the full post here

There were 2 joint winners this week who received 5 SBD each

The first winning comment this week was from @snooway who commented with the following:

“Regular walks at lunchtime really helps my well-being. I appreciate nature, count my blessings, take photos, and the fresh air gives me clarity to tackle the rest of the day.”

The second winning comment this week was from @helenliu who commented with the following:

“我每天讀經靈修,思想神的話語,這様幫助我行事為人不偏離主的道,焦急憂慮時,得以回到平靜安隠。最近我從事中英文翻譯,每晚把三篇英文禱告詞翻成中文,與教會群組朋友分享,大家一起為社區禱告,做為宣教的後盾。感謝主!在翻譯時,讓我一次次進入神的同在!
I read the Bible every day, meditating on God’s words. I thank God for His teaching because it always leads me on the right track. When I am anxious and worried, certain Bible verses will occur to me and peace of mind will be restored to me.

Recently I have been translating English prayers into Chinese to share with my church friends. Using these prayers, we pray for our community together. When I am doing the translation, I feel God’s presence more intensely. Thank the Lord for His grace.“

As usual, there were a lot of great answers, so please take some time to read through all the great responses.


The question for the Steemit community today is: What is the craziest thing you have ever done to save money?

IMG_1617.PNG
Thanks to @epicdesigns for the Ask Steemit logo

Please include your answers in the comments below. I will be awarding 5-10 SBD to the best response(s).

To qualify, you must upvote and resteem this post.


Follow me @nextgen622 for weekly Ask Steemit posts

Sort:  

The craziest thing I did to save money was some years back in fact! I was in such a financial problem for a month that I did not know what to do to get some money!
You know what I did!? I locked myself in my house for 30 days(Well I only pick up the work transport to go work)! I lived with whatever I had in the house, I did not spend a penny that month.
Finally all the little money I had stayed there with me and I just added it to the next month.
Doing this exercise proved that most of the time we do unnecessary expenses. We can live very well if we refrain from expending like crazy!
Now whenever I am in such situation, the best way out is to LOCK YOURSELF UP! Lol!

Wow. Sounds extreme but effective!

Oh yes so extreme...but after doing this you feel you are saved and get breath again!
Sometime we really make unnecessary expenses when we have it all at home in stock!

Quite extreme, but I'm not blaming you.

lol. Haha next time I need to save some money, I’ll try this one too. :P Locking yourself up for 30 days sounds very painful. :)

I liked this part:

Doing this exercise proved that most of the time we do unnecessary expenses. We can live very well if we refrain from expending like crazy!

so true~

I did several things in the past to save money. I walked a non-trekkable distance just to save cash so as to eat dinner when I was in college. Lol. Another time was when I had to stay hungry just to use saved money to buy a shoe I had long wanted. Crazy thing to do.... I almost died. Lol

I think it may be the time I travelled for more than 30 hours on a cheap Royal Brunei flight from Melbourne to London, then took the train to Worcester and to save money I tried to take the bus instead of a taxi. I got lost and it took ages to find my accommodation. I was ready to collapse and ended up taking a "nap" and missed the keynote speech that evening! All to save a few pounds.

Haha nice. But if you made it to the Keynote speech, you’d probably be pretty happy with yourself saving some money. :)

Crazy indeed. Luckily you safely got to your accommodation place.

till now...i have done nothing to save money. my days are just starting. hehe

I skip my meal and my friends ask me what have u done? and said I am on diet but in reality im saving for my insurance policy hehe :) @nextgen622

The silliest has to be take a one hour walk home in the rain because taxi fares were more than I wanted to pay--even though they are ultra cheap in Korea. Second silliest is buying clothes on sale because they were a bargain, even though I didn't think they looked particularly good. Needless to say, I ended up recycling them. So by saving money, I actually spent money.

Upvoted n resteemed.

Haha I’ve done something similar with buying things just because it was on sale but finding out that I didn’t need it.

The craziest thing I can think of at this time is when I built a venturi system for the exhaust system of my dad's car so that the faster the car went, the more vacuum would be created to suck out the exhaust and lower the back-pressure on the engine. I later discovered that although this would increase gas mileage, it also destroys the engine itself because the engine is designed to require a certain amount of back pressure.

Kudos to you for trying something like that though. I’m hopeless at DIY stuff. :)

Everyone is given different gifts. I'm hopeless at music and being able to remember names and numbers. I'm also mildly face-blind.

Yeah true. :)

Living in a really cozy room with shared kitchen and bathroom!

craziest thing ever done to save money? I remember that when I was 18, there was a Bible Exposition somewhere in Manila - they give free dinner so I attended for the sake of saving dinner money back when I was just starting living on my own :)
not ashamed of it though I find it the craziest thing I've ever done
but in Asia it was normal :)
learned much about the Bible though so it was also worth it cause at that time, I was still in the Univ - helped me a lot during my religion class - yeah we had such in the Ph

haha i’ve heard of others who have done similar things. Learning more about the Bible is always worthwhile. :)

you bet I wasn't alone :D
we were a team , my friends and I and others who were there for the very sane reason :)

It is bit embarrassing to talk about. Many years ago it was turning off the fridge, not using air conditioning at all and also dumping my urine to save on the water bill. It was that tough at one time. You learn to do what you have to. God has blessed me since then and for that I am eternally grateful.

Must have been tough for you back then. I’m glad God has blessed you and things have improved. :)

Used to live in college for a while, and while I'm not sure if it applies to other parts of the world, but here in Hungary, there is a running joke about college associated with being poor but exceptionally creative.

Anyways, not so interesting but my diet during those years consisted of very few cheap elements. Wouldn't go into details if you don't mind but I ate some meals that with my today's standards (at least since I have a job)I would consider disgusting.

Haha I’m about to have breakfast, so I won’t ask you what you ate back then. I’m sure it’s quite disgusting. :)

Yeah, wouldn't do it again, definitely not at all.

Fortunately, my position at job is quite stable so I have no worries.

When I was a young working woman, we wear pantyhose. It was quite expensive and still is, but thank goodness I don't wear it anymore. When the one leg got a tear in, I used to cut off the one leg. If I had two pairs with just one leg, I put it on, the one over the over, and then you have a "good pair" and nobody knows. :-)

Haha that’s very clever and creative actually. :)

go to fast food restraunts, load up on paper napkins, packs of cracker s, ketchup and mustard packs, salt and pepper and plastic sporks. set for the week in bathroom tissue/paper towels and condiments.
dumpster dive behind funeral home for cloths.
go to local dump looking for home appliances.
raid old construction site for cement blocks and two by fours to use as furniture.
stack up flattened cardboard boxes to use as a bed.
buy old van turn it into a makeshift camper and live in it.

I went to study at a state university in the US many many years ago. The foreign exchange rate at that time was 1:40. As an impoverished graduate student, I needed to work part time. The lowest salary was less than 2 dollars (USD) per hour. But it cost at least 5 USD to cut hair for women. It would cost much more to go to a hair dresser. Before I went abroad, I had my hair curled twice a year. To save money, my husband and I took turns to cut hair for each other. We had brought tools for the job.

However, after my husband got his PhD and left the US, I had to cut my own hair. I did it by looking at a mirror. It was difficult for me to cut my hair at the back. I had to ask my child, a primary school pupil to help me. I gave instructions and she did the cutting. The result? Well, OK!

多年前我到美國讀書,在那𥚃住了五年,這期間從未回家,直到獲得學位。那時候台灣40塊錢才能換到美金一塊錢,匯率是1:40。我需要去打工,當時最低工資:時薪不到兩塊錢美金,而女生剪一次頭髮最少要五美元,燙髪更高出好幾倍價錢。我出國前,在台灣每半年燙一次頭髮。到了美國,頭髮不燙了。為了省錢,我和我先生都互相剪頭髮,從來不去理髮店。出國的時候我們就已經準備好要用的工具:剪刀。但是我先生比我早拿到學位,就先回台灣了,留下我和孩子。我只好一個人對著鏡子,拿著剪刀自己剪,但是後面的部分不好剪,只好讓我當時還在就讀國小的孩子幫忙,我一面指揮,她一面剪。結果呢?差強人意!還可以走出家門去見人。

Haha, auntie, was it Sue who you asked to cut your hair? Sounds like a tough time in your lives.

Yes, it was. It’s all over now. Thank the Lord! All ends well.

I can remember an instant in which i tried really hard to save money but spent it anyways on something more foolish. I was visiting a relative with my cousin on our motor-bike and when we left the house, the fuel in our bike ended. We checked our pockets and found out that we had like 100 Rs in total. So we had an option either to spend it on fuel or save it for later. We opted the second option and walk almost 15 miles back to our homes. However, the funny thing was; when we were almost 2-3 miles from our home we were that hungry that we were not able to walk another step so we spent that money we tried to save on our food to get some energy to walk back home. Lol our in vain try to save money.

really nice post and thank you very much for share.

I GAVE MYSELF A CUT IN PAY!
With the desire to save money in the form of silver, I told the man I work for (1 day/week) that he could pay me 1 ounce of silver for the first hour of the day and that it would cost him less than 20 bucks (my hourly rate) to purchace the ounce of silver. He agreed to the deal.
We have been doing this a little over a year now. He keeps about 10 to 35 ounces on hand so that when he can no longer afford to obtain the ounce of silver for less than my hourly pay, there will be a few weeks where I see an increase of pay, at least for an hour.

So you essentially utilize the constantly changing price of silver to earn money?

Not quite. I am essentially paying more than the retail cost of the silver in order to save the purchasing power that the fiat currency has today.

very interesting post, hopefully you continue to succeed in your business, because with you really help the steemian to improve his spirits, thanks and good luck for you ...

I would like to join

Great post, With photos, writing style, and certainly useful. I like it very much. good post Your posts match if you get a lot of upvote @nextgen622

This is such a sweet contest! I have made a box with wood just to ensure I drop something into it a day. Anyways it was quite rewarding

This is incredible! Love it. @nextgen622

Am a newby here and just learning how to make good posts, here is my entry.
The craziest thing I have ever done to save money was to look for an original note and do the photocopy, I will keep the original note and go about trying to spend the photocopied note, lollllll

This is surprisingly relevant to my latest post, though I've thankfully never been in a situation where I've had to resort to desperate measures to save money.

I once wore a pair of shoes until they were reeking and falling to pieces. A boyfriend stole them and threw them in the dumpster to force me to buy a new pair. Years later, it happened again, only that time it was my parents who made me throw them away. By that time, I was no longer a college student - I was an engineer with a six-figure job! Stingy habits die hard.

Congratulations @nextgen622! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

He hecho muchas cosas para ahorrar dinero, algunas de ellas son, comprar me una alcancía, pero nunca la llegaba a llenar completa, siempre la rompía antes de tiempo, otra cosa que he hecho es colocar dinero en algunos lugares que yo sepa que no voy a revisar por algún tiempo y que se me olvide que he guardado dinero hay, pero nunca me funciono, siempre terminaba me acordaba y me los gastaba...

@smartbot withdraw ScVUBkrP7JVCDNjzMsUkUYkmBbz9yAbxje

@nextgen622: 1199.99 SMART has been withdrawn from your account to ScVUBkrP7JVCDNjzMsUkUYkmBbz9yAbxje. You have been charged 0.01 SMART withdrawal fee. Transaction 4d469789ad089e29d988d918fece4fcf6a752f1ff71a6e263f0d83fdbac8875d is now completed.