Sort:  

I'm glad you said something. I've been so busy lately I'm beginning to think the world is conspiring against me. Either that or someone has a switch in their pocket like a garage door opener and the thing's stuck on eat DanDays time. I thought I was at the weekend a minute ago. Oopsie.

So I stuck my head out and are you sure you meant me, DanDays? D.a.n.d.a.y.s like that?

Rumour had it, you got maple syrup, and are cooking a brekki..?

Is brekki a game animal of sea food... LoL

Oh well damn! Yeah I got maple syrup out of a maple tree.

No...

You tapped the sap from the Maple. It comes out like water. We carried it in buckets. Some farms have pipe systems, gravity fed to the boiler house. I used to skip school and bring in sap in the fall.

You are correct that it is very much like making moonshine. But basically you are just boiling off the moisture to concentrate the sap. I have drank the sap it is water like and sweet. It is really good on ice or warm.

I am a Pennsylvania Farm Boy @dandays

I miss stuff like that, great memories of keeping the wood fires and sap boiling for weeks. Thousands of gallons it seemed to make 50 or so of the syrup. Do not remember the exact ratio. Been 38+ years ago.

Holy Shit Man. You set me off on a.mission, and I found a photo of what we called the "Sugar Shack" when I was a kid.

Top right. The boiler shed, sap house, sugar shack... Thanks for that walk down memory lane. I needed that on my 20074 day on the planet. Just 3 hours and 45 minutes from the start of my 55th year. Some of the best memories were on that simple PA. farm...

Farm shots.JPG

Ariel View.

Airal shot of farm.JPG

Some great memories I'm sure.
When we gather the sap, we keep a few gallons just for drinking. My wife's cousin lives up the road apiece on a 100-acre farm. They keep the place in tip-top shape. On their property, they also have a Sugar Shack that dates back to late 1800. It amazes me how these structures were constructed back in the day, big timber with all of the joinery done by hand, no power tools.

The ratio of sap to syrup is 50/1, and as you know it takes lots of boiling.
IMG_7734.JPG

We do it as a hobby and usually produce 2 or 3 gallons a year, depending on the run.
IMG_7756.JPG

We enjoy giving some away, and a big fan of the syrup is @dandays. We have sent him a few bottles for the past couple of years.

I think he likes it!

Yes.

I believe he likes it.

@dandays uses it as a body wash... LoL

untitled.gif

He even puts it on his "Falafels..."
untitled.gif

There are none that I have had of the processed store bought syrups that even compares to the farm made ones.

I can't enjoy store bought syrup anymore. It's a waste, I won't consume it and that syrup body wash is disturbing.

Funny stuff, I think that next year I may have to make a few extra gallons of syrup just to bath in.
Bathing in Maple syrup may end up being the Fountain of Youth.

Yeah, I hear you there. The guy seems to be having a little too much fun.

Thanks for sharing this with me on your birthday. Do you get discounts at ihop now? You should. What I know about cooking syrup I learned from Sweeds blog. I've cooked many'0 gallon of shine though, that's why I'm made the comparison.

Built a handful of steam plants too so I understand the science. 1,000's of gallons for 50 sounds about right.

@thebigsweed check it out.

I read this all to @pooky-jax

She laughed out loud at the iHOP line cuz I blurted out "You Fucker" and chuckled an evil laugh after that smart ass remark... Then went on reading. She says "Wow... Brutal."

I told her it is just the way we play... And look here, I think we are aging very well...

untitled.gif

Are you paying full price or what?

Make sure she knows I asked and remind her how you even read it out loud to her so she heard me ask you and then you responded back to me how you read it out loud to her and here I am back at square 1—clueless like a University of YouTube graduate.

Thanks for the mention my friend, always appreciated!

Oh wow! Look at those old Polaroids! I love this. I have always wanted to sip the sap right off the "tap" as it were. I've heard it has an amazing brilliance to it. I love natural, unadulterated syrup. But it's gotta be different straight from the tree, I figure...

I wonder -- do they have maple trees in Australia? I bet not. Maybe you should propose to bring some as part of your offering to be a contender for the coveted visit.

I hear they soak pancakes in Fosters down unda!

They soak EVERYTHING in Fosters.

Yes! I have definitely missed you!

Lol. Good point.