Sunset at Sydney Harbour Bridge

in #australia6 years ago


Sunset at Sydney Harbour Bridge


I took this photograph of Sydney Harbour Bridge whilst waiting for the fireworks to start on New Year's Eve.

We'd just been for a swim in Luna Park Pool with my brother and his family. We'd booked the holiday when they told us they were going to be there and had a fantastic 3 weeks touring around.

My brother stayed with us last weekend and told us that they had booked to go back to Australia for 4 weeks this time, next Feburary.

I soooo wish we could go there again but it's not possible for us this time, for a number of reasons. 😢

Still, I'm very grateful we took the opportunity when we were able to. 😊

It was a once in a lifetime holiday experience.


sydney sunset.JPG

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~



Thank you to @juliank and @photocontests for the daily photography contest.

Sort:  

@gillianpearce, I read about this amazing bridge. It's so nice that you could visit such a wonderful place. Looks very nice.

Yep. It was a great trip @madlenfox. 😁

So beautiful! Good call on taking opportunities when they arise! Life is too short and you need to enjoy every moment. Well, hopefully, some other time, right!?

hopefully, some other time, right!

Hopefully @rimicane but there are so many other places I want to visit too. It's unlikely I'll get around to all of them which makes this trip even more one to treasure. 😊

Lucky you Gillian watching the New Year fireworks in Sydney. I love watching them.on telly every you!

It was a very fortunate trip @livinguktaiwan. Not something we'd planned particularly so that made it extra special. 😁

For me it would take 22 hours to go and be in Sydney Thats a goal for My 50 th birthday goots keep goals in life

I think it took us even longer than that @brittandjosie but we timed our flights really well so the journey and consequent recovery wasn't as bad as I thought it might be.

I hope you make it for your 50th. It's a fun place to visit. 😊

What a fantastic photo I would love to go there. Sometimes those once in a lifetime trips can just reach down into our souls and change us forever. A return trip would be fantastic but could also lessen the value of the first. Thank you for sharing your amazing photo.

I don't think a return trip would lessen the value of the first one as we could easily spend just as much time and return to anywhere we went before. it would take a very long time to see all that Australia has to offer I think. 😁

I did not mean it in a negative way at all, Australia is a large and varied landscape that you could spend years exploring. I just meant that sometimes the mystery can be more dreamy (at a lack of a better word) than the return. I would love to go there as well. I want to thank you for the post, your photo allowed me to see a place I have dreamed of through your eyes Thank you!!

I did not mean it in a negative way at all

I didn't take it in a negative way. I just wanted to respond to your comment. I hope you are able to go there some day @roverone. 😁

Wow, beautiful. I’m currently saving up to visit Australia (and Sydney specifically. It looks amazing.

If you get the opportunity @twocatsncounting try and get across to Tasmania. We were there for about 10 days and it was brilliant. If you like unspoiled places that is! 😁

Thank you for the suggestion! I’ll definitely have a look.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-02T20:08:36
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2951.09/3200.00
Total Photos: 387
Total comments: 328
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 5.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Gosh this is stunning

thank you empress-eremmy. 😊

Nice colors! That looks like quite a long bridge ..

It is 1,149 m long apparently @fotosdenada. 😁

Congratulations @gillianpearce! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

What a gorgeous nighttime view! I hope you are able to travel there again someday.