Sunset in Mongolia - First Night in a local Yurt!

in #backpacking7 years ago

CIMG5823.JPG

If you are planning to sleep in a yurt, you should know you will not be alone. Locals are with you, frogs, I even found a beetle in my belly button, huge locusts are falling on you the whole night. Locusts are very big you can hear them falling on the floor. I get used to this sound, at the end it was my meditation sound : platsh platsh platsh :D You have to kill some mosquitoes, too. I was even the lucky one and stepped almost on a Mongolian mouse. They seriously look like little kangaroos. I screamed a lot :D


Mongolian Mouse

After that trip I was no longer disgust by any insects or strange animals :D The beauty of the country was more important.


Camels are also house pets for Mongolian kids. Kids are playing around with the bulbs of the camel


I enjoyed the view while laying in my yurt bed

CIMG5806.JPG
Sun is going down

CIMG5828.JPG
Nomad kids are trolling around. Kids are smiling the whole day. It seems nomads are pretty happy, even they have not much


Dog of the nomads. Dogs are taking care of sheep

CIMG5809.JPG

CIMG5810.JPG
On the right side you can see a brown wood box, that is their toilet. It is just a room with a whole into the earth

CIMG5803.JPG
Beautiful Sunset

CIMG5829.JPG
My travel mate Petra

She get an extra mattress. Mongolian beds are just made out of wood. She get back problems. I slept on this wood beds. Thanks god, my back could forgive me this trip!

CIMG5837.JPG
cute frog in our yurt

CIMG5831.JPG
A glimpse of our roof in the yurt

The black pipe is the oven pipe. We had always fresh air and I felt asleep pretty fast!

See you soon! Big Hug Lena <3 <3

Sort:  

That's awesome that you got to experience their culture.

thank you very much for your nice comment :)

Tolle Bilder und der Hund ist der Hammer :-)

Cool, where are you heading next?
Following :)

thanks :) that will be a surprise :)

I like the Mongolian Mouse :-D

hehe they are a bit strange :P

You know you are living the dream right?

hey thanks for your comment! yes I am very happy that I have the chance to make that kind of trips

Beautiful pics, i loved the mongolian mouse, they are more glamour than our regular mouses, lolll. have a splendid day !

but they are also a bit scary :P wish you a nice day too <3

Woaw!. I really happy to share what i felt. your post is wonderful. I just moved on your photos and about backpacking cuz i am from @MONGOLIA. Also i hope you will visit our county again. THANKS A LOT. :)

You must have had a great fun!

This is really amazing, and something we want to do very soon. Did you plan and arrange all of your trip yourself or was it done through a tour of some kind?

this is epic! mongolia is so high up on my list, even higher now. thanks for sharing!

Hello my friend

Thanks for this post and the wonderful post
I really liked what I wrote in this post
The selection of the post is so lovely
Happy day to you and always

Mongolia is so beautiful with the plains and the mountain in the background. Did you get to check out the city as well?

@lenatramper I love your sun is going down shot 📸👌🏼