Dairy-Free Pound Cake: Another Kitchen Experiment

in #baking3 years ago

As I may have mentioned before, I have been in the mood to try out some of the many recipes I've had on hand for years but never used. Instead of making traditional favorites for Christmas dinner, I decided to use some new recipes. They came from excellent cooks, so there shouldn't be a problem!

One of the recipes I intended to make is called Cream Cheese Pound Cake. But we do have one family member who is allergic to dairy, and it seemed cruel to make something like that, even though I had saved a piece of dairy-free pie in the freezer just for them. So I went online, looking for a dairy-free pound cake recipe.


20201223_115731_1.jpg

I found an easy recipe, and quickly assembled the ingredients. Another family member had requested orange pound cake, so I added about 2 tsp. of orange extract, about 1 T. of grated orange peel, and reduced the lemon juice to 1 1/2 T.


20201223_140755_2.jpg

For some reason, the center of the top fell. So it doesn't look perfect, but it tastes really good! I cut one slice and shared it with my husband, so I could decide whether I had to try again. Nope, this one's a keeper! And today we will eat it for dessert.

Photos taken on my Android phone.