Life's a Beach - Beach Wednesday Contest

This is my entry in to the Beach Wednesday Photo contest organised by @uwelang.

A couple of years ago I flew to Dunedin in the South Island of New Zealand to pick up a new car. I met up with my mother and my friend Ashley so that we could do a road trip back up to the North Island.

We stopped at a town called Oamaru on the east coast. The weather in January was hot and calm and we spent the day at Oamaru Beach.

This is one of my favourite photos as it's the last picture I have before he passed away. He was having the best day just walking along the beach in the sun.

image.png

The water was warm and you could walk out a very long way before it got deep.

image.png

Even when the sun was going down people didn't go home. It was such a lovely evening!!
image.png

The sky turned a beautiful pink as the sun set and the light faded.

image.png

The water was so calm. No surfing happening here.
image.png

Looking back at this wee holiday makes me remember to enjoy the simple things in life....like the beach!

Thanks for stopping by...

image.png

Sort:  

Such wonderful picturesque memories to hold within your heart @andysantics48, thank you for sharing you lovely photos. I love the photo of your friend walking along, the colour and reflections are captured so well. 🌈

Thank you I love that photo too!! I hold those memories very dear :)

What a beautiful time you had Andy enjoying this awesome beach and making a wonderful memory of your dear friend, Ashley.

It was really fun and a thoroughly great day :)

Sounds idyllic, peaceful, and extremely pleasant

It really was lovely and an added bonus was the little blue penguins at night :D

Warm water in Oamaru?

Is this a fictional story?

yip warm water in Oamaru!!! Not at all fictional :D

Simple and yet so beautiful
Nothing like Gaia and her artistic expressions

The peace and tranquility of it..... stunning