The pleasures of a river beach

in #beachwednesday3 years ago (edited)

I use to prefer ocean beaches (you know... the ocean breeze and thin sand) but we should enjoy the small life pleasures we are gifted.

If it's a hot day and we are close to a river beach...then we must go for a swim!!

That was what I did recently, I went to a river beach in Mondego, near Coimbra (Portugal), with a friend.
img_0.2916935537384262.jpg

It was 5p.m. and there were still a lot of people on the beach and on the water too :)
img_0.5276626407709947.jpg

The water temperature was perfect, and we stayed until sunset. I enjoyed a lot the couple of hours spent in the beach.
img_0.298112767610457.jpg

I only feel sorrow for the loud music some groups insisted to keep listening to. That behaving is so portuguese (I mean, annoying)!! It also means it is August and there is a lot of people on vacations ⛱️👙😎

I am back to work...but taking a bit of time here and there for relaxation, after all, it is August!! 😊

Sort:  

It actually looks much cozier and nicer than ocean beach (besides the ocean part - that is pretty cool).

What are those big blocks on the left on the first photo?

Ahhh, I "ignored" those blocks but they are really important. They were placed to facilitate fishes migration, it is a fish passage.

More photos here (look for Açude de Palheiros): http://www.rhpdm.uevora.pt/action1_pt.html

Ohh! That is cool and never heard of it :)
I started to think its for people. Some kind of obstacles in some competition... or just to play with.

There are several along the Mondego river (well, i only know two, but that webpage has a few more).
It would bem super fun to use this passage as a play game 😃

Maybe....river beaches are even better because the water isnt salt which itches less on the skin hehe,.

Love both beaches and hope you are doing well!

I love to feel the salt in my skin (when it doesn't make me itching), mainly because it only happens for a brief period of time 😀

I am learning to enjoy river beaches, I am not used to them actually.
Hope you are ok as well!!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more