Sort:  

Oh, Nick! @nickyhavey Every day I am vertical I consider a plus! My great grandfather used to say that! LOL When I graduated from college, I adopted it as I watched so many of my acquaintances meet an early demise. So, I love life and never take a day for granted and never, ever lose the wonder of it all.

I hope you are having the time of your life! Thanks for stopping by!

!tip

Haha I love that saying too! It's true though, you never know when your time could be up. In one of my songs, the words are "don't take for granted that you'll live another day". So live in the now hey 🙂

I've had an amazing experience and traveling has taught me many things, living in the present is one of them. Thank you @dswigle 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

That is the most sage advice I would give anyone! I am hoping to start planning a get away from life trip here soon. :)

I am so glad you are doing this now. I did it right after school and did it for almost a year. I wouldn't trade if for anything! Enjoy! You will never be your age again! :) NO matter what they tell you!

Ah awesome, where have you got in mind to go to??

Yes I have come to realise that I missed out on travelling from 21-27 due to my PhD but making up for lost time from 27-32 now 🙂 I may have spent almost all my money but I feel richer for it

Posted using Partiko Android

You didn't miss out. I went after I finished school, which took me until I was almost 25, so, yeah... I spent every penny I had and then have spent the next ten years traveling the world, with work, but, now I am taking time off again because I can. And No!! You won't feel the same at 57 as you do at 27 like they keep saying to me.

Better to do this whilst you're young and have energy to move around although there's plenty of ways to travel comfortably without breaking the budget or your body!

Wow you travel the world for work? What do you do?

That's why I went on this adventure as I could do it and had the time/money to sustain it for 2.5 months. Now I need to earn again as steem isn't quite cutting it yet! 5 years time 🙂

I don't feel the same at 32 vs 22 so I believe you on that too haha

Posted using Partiko Android

That is true and why I will be taking a leave of absence probably after the summer. I haven't yet made the plan, but, being fluid has its advantages. There are a few of us going, which is fun and we have been doing this since we were all teenagers. :) We used to look to see where the cheapest flight was (okay, we were 18 and 19) and fly there for two days and discover a new place. LOL

We really love going for at least 3-4 weeks a year somewhere and have managed to do it no matter what... and we have, of course, added to the group. It's fun and sometimes there are more and sometimes fewer people.

I work for the government. Sweet deal, lots of vacation and the best retirement ever.

Money isn't everything. These moments, you will never get back and I hope that you are having the time of your life. I have become financially secure, but, there are things along the way that I have had to sacrifice.

Fun wasn't one of them though. :)

I haven't nailed down where we are going. Three years ago was the Nepal trip and Four years ago, India... and one of my parents got really ill and I had to ditch and come home...I personally wanted to do Machu Picchu as I am the only one who has been there and that is a worthy trip, but, we will get all the votes in the next month. :)

No it isn't everything but it does make a big difference if you have it. It buys you comfort I guess. Yes I know what you mean by sacrificing things. I don't spend what I don't need to (for the most part). I have a mega (and beautifully constructed if I do say so myself) spreadsheet which helps me keep on track with all my finances. Really helped me manage my budget for this adventure. I'm 100% certain I'd have spent everything well before the end of this trip if it wasn't for it!

I've not ventured to any of those places but Machu Picchu is a place I'd like to visit for sure. Appeals to the hiker in me 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

🎁 Hi @nickyhavey! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Beautiful Sunday, Sublimely So With A Liittle Coloring Of My World Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)