The best haircare routine for damaged hair

in #beauty6 years ago

I was sitting in the hairdresser’s chair, desperately looking at the amount of hair she had to cut off my ends. It was the second time this year that the hairdresser said my hair was too damaged and she had to cut a big chunk off. I wanted to grow my hair long but at this rate it was never going to happen.

The reason why it was so damaged was that we spent more than a month at the sea this year, a lot of time in the sun and I didn’t always use a conditioner, sometimes I brushed my hair wet… you can’t say I took very good care of it. I knew it wasn’t in good shape, but it didn’t think it was that bad.

So I asked her what I could do with it so doesn’t get damaged like that anymore, and she taught me the best haircare routine ever.

Since I've been following this hair care routine my hair is much healthier and looks shinier.
IMG_20180621_104235.jpg


This was the routine she told me to follow:

  1. Dab some argan oil at the ends of your dry hair just before you want to wash it and leave it on for 10 minutes. You can find this product here
    argan_.jpg

  2. Wash your hair with shampoo for damaged hair. Find this product here
    aussie_.jpg

  3. The most important step: Put an argan oil hair mask on your hair while in the shower and brush your hair with the mask still on it. Leave the mask on for 5 more minutes, then wash it off.
    Don’t brush your hair again when you come out of the shower, just let it dry.
    If you have to brush your hair at all, other than when you’re in the shower with the mask on, do so very carefully and slowly. Ideally you’ll only brush it with the argan oil mask on. This way your ends won’t split and your hair won’t get damaged.
    Find this product here
    mask.jpg

I thought my hair was going to get messy if I didn’t brush it after washing it, but actually it doesn’t, it looks much healthier than it ever has, and it’s not messy at all. I’m not sure it would work the same way with very curly hair but try it out and let me know!

On top of the above I use hemp oil as part of my hair care routine:

  • Once a week I make hemp oil + coconut oil hair mask. Mix some coconut oil (in its liquid form) with hemp oil, massage it into the scalp first and then all the way down towards the ends. It gets absorbed by the hair quickly so it doesn’t leave a mess.
    Find hemp seed oil here
    hemp.jpg

  • I use a home-made hemp seed oil hair spray once a day. Mix a spoonful of hempseed oil with 2 dcl of water and some essential oil (I’m using lemon grass right now) in a spraying bottle. Spray on your hair in the morning. It will give your hair a nice shine and some necessary moisture.
    Find lemon grass essential oil here
    lemon.jpg

Hemp oil has many benefits for hair:

  • The lipids present in hemp oil bind with your hair to help moisturize it.
  • It helps the growth of hair on the scalp. It contains Omega-3, Omega-6 and Omega-9 fatty acids, along with proteins and vitamin E. All of those help stimulate the hair follicles and speed up hair growth.
  • The oil also improves blood circulation on the scalp, which ensures that the hair follicles are nourished enough to support hair growth.
  • It strengthens the hair. When the hair gets dry, it becomes weak and breaks easily. Hemp oil can maintain hair’s natural texture and enables the scalp to better support the hair.

Try this haircare routine if your hair is damaged or if you have split ends and let me know if it helped!

Please comment on our post, upvote it and share it if you like it :)

Sort:  

Hi Veronika, I found your post really helpful. Thanks a lot

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.