Friendly little bumble bee

in #bee5 years ago

Bombus centralis, the Central bumble bee. I was sitting at my computer and saw movement on the deck which turned out to be this little bee. It was wandering around so I picked it up to see its coloring. The pics aren't the clearest since it was in constant motion. The entire time it was on my hands it was taste testing me with its tongue. It was looking for food I presume but it felt pretty weird the little bee tongue flicking against the skin.

This was a worker based off the color pattern. Their range extends the Cascades and Rockies from Canada to Mexico borders and beyond. Definitely one of the smaller bumble bees I have seen.

Super chill bee that just walked all over my hands and arms. I put it back on the deck to go about its way. I'd love to figure out how to get more to move in but we do have a pretty healthy population of at least 4 different bumble bees already.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Save all you can

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!