Beekeeping - Mowing the Field While Suited Up!!

in #beekeeping7 years ago

I don't take chances anymore! There was that one incident that caused me to look at the beekeeping in a whole new light (see video below).

This photo was snapped in a hurry while I was on the tractor shredding (mowing) the field. Normally, in the past, I wouldn't have thought for 2 seconds that running the tractor back there was a risk, but now I wouldn't dream of taking the big orange beast around the beehives without a suit.

For the most part my bees are gentle. No problems, but you just never know when things can turn bad. Maybe they are just irritated, or perhaps one hive lost a queen and they've been working on making a new one. That new queen can be mated with local drones (male bees) that have some very aggressive genetics. The "Africanized" or "Killer Bees" have been in South Texas for a long time now. It is a risk for sure.

My Bee Selfie While Mowing

This video was recorded one day after an attack. I just had to document how I was feeling after that event.

When 1000s of Bees Decide to Hate you all at Once!


My 5 Most Recent Posts

*for your upvoting pleasure*


Steemit-Homesteaders-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Gardeners-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Beekeepers-Daddykirbs-300.pngsteemit-dads-daddykirbs-small.png

Get your Steemit Homesteading badge here !
Get your Steemit Gardening badge here !
Get your Steemit Beekeeping badge here


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

Great video DaddyKirbs, Very interesting, thanks for sharing

Scary. A serious life lesson 🐝

pooh, that was dangerous Blake! good video to remind people of what a swarm of angry bees is capable of! resteemed and upvoted!

Yep! Those angry bees are nothing to mess with! 🐝🐝🐝🐝

wow. very interesting.. have you ever been beaten by bees

I have been stung many times. It doesn't bother me so much when it is a few, but if it were hundreds or thousands at a time... that would be very bad. 🐝

Yeah, thats what i call bravery.... i dont think i would be able to do that

eat honey sure.... but be next to thousands of bees at once, even in a suit haha, couldnt do it

Resteemit to give a great reminder to always be safe!

Be carefull out there! upvoted and resteemed!

stay safe @daddykirbs thanks for sharing this video.

I'm sure this is an old video but still you be safe sir :) I resteemed as well

Scary stuff! I remember seeing this horror movie about killer bees when I was a kid, that totally freaked me out!

Have you tried using a scythe?