Erdinger Dunkel & Limfjords Porter Beers

in #beer7 years ago

Enjoying a warm summer's evening, on a short vacation to Denmark, my first beer of this Saturday evening is ERDINGER Weissbier Dunkel.

I'm a fan of stouts and darker ales, and the café we were in didn't have any Danish beers that grabbed my attention, so I opted for a familiar Bavarian beer.

From the initial pouring, it's evident that this is fizzy beer - most of the glass filled with head before I'd had a chance to get more than a few mouthfuls of beer into the glass. It took a while to finish pouring it into the glass.

The beer has a deep, dark brown appearance, but since it is a 'Dunkelweizen' beer (a dark wheat beer), it has the light and fizzy characteristics of a Weissbier.

The light, almost larger-like taste, didn't hint at the 5.30% abv strength of the beer.

I'd rate it 3 / 5 - an acceptable beer, but not one I would rush out to buy anytime soon.

Stopping off at the supermarket on the way home, I spotted a Porter beer and a Danish one to boot. Jackpot.

Limfjords' Porter - "a double brown stout" - is a little fizzy and produces a small head that disappears quickly.

It has a rich, smooth coffee flavour and is quite bitter; leaving you with a dry mouth, but overall very pleasant to drink.

It's very strong at 7.9% abv and comes in a large 50 cl bottle.

I'd rate it 4.25 / 5 - I would definitely get it again, but it's not really a beer that you can have more than one of per night.

Sort:  

AHHH my favorite beer :-) erdinger dunkel
but hahahah i guess you just handled this beer wrong
how did you fill the glass? was it standing ;-) hahaha ? and did you shook the bottle with a little rest of beer to loosen the yeast.
if not, you missed the essence of this beer what makes it so delecious.

I think maybe I was a bit too hasty in my beer pouring - I tilted the glass a little, but probably went a bit gung-ho on the pouring.

Thanks for the tip about loosening the yeast ☺️

You seem to like German beer ;)

Yep, the German's do make excellent beer ☺️

.. and I do love dark stouts :)

That Porter looks tasty!

But I'm not such a fan of Weissbeer Dunkels, so would probably give that a miss!

A "dunkles Weizen" is a great choice for #BeerSaturday

Thanks, I'm glad you liked it

That beer looks awesome!

Cheers from Texas. While I'm more of a whisky man, I do enjoy the occasional dark beer and like seeing what people are drinking across the pond. Followed.

There seems to be quite a community of beer/wine/alcohol appreciation such as #beerSaturaday and #steemPub, so I'll probably be posting more drink in the future =)

Thanks, I've followed you back.