I went to the beer festival in Mechelen, Belgium (Beer #1 - Tamera)

in #beer7 years ago

Hello Steemers,

Yesterday I went to the beer festival in Mechelen, Belgium. The festival lasts three days, I went on the second day. It's all about experiencing different kinds of Belgian beers and their flavours. There are more than 150 beers available from more than 35 Belgian breweries located all around Belgium. It's impossible to taste all of them in three days, I tried but came nowhere near that number in only one afternoon.

I highly recommend the festival for anyone that is from the area. Every brewery was so passionned about their beer(s) and the organisation did an amazing job with all the tables, booths, heaters, lighting (great for pictures when it's dark), etc. I had an awesome afternoon with great beers and with some of my friends. 

It's time for me to share you my first beer tasting experience of the afternoon, I tasted 7 different beers, all from different brewerie.

Tamera is a blond triple, gold-yellow colored, fruity (citrus), smooth and exotic tasting beer. It's brewed by the Engima brewery in Heusden-Zolder, Belgium. It's the first beer that they brought on the market. It was my favourite beer of the day, the taste was amazing, so smooth, it's for sure a silent killer with it's 9% alchohol content.

The name Tamera is inspired by the Belgian river: the Demer, which is derived from the Celtic Tamera or Tamara which means Black River. In old Britain, Tamara, the woman on the label was also a goddess of the rivers.

Thanks for reading this post, make sure to follow me, I try to post one post each 2 days! (unless I'm too hangover from the day before)

Feel free to check out my beer reports

The Belgian Beer Report #1 - Omer

The Belgian Beer Report #2 – La Chouffe

The Belgian Beer Report #3 - Gentste Strop

The Belgian Beer Report #4 – Stella Artois

The Belgian Beer Report #5 - Paix Dieu

The Belgian Beer Report #6 – Bacchus Cherry

The Belgian Beer Report #7 – St. Bernardus Tripel

The Belgian Beer Report #8 – Gouden Carolus Triple

The Belgian Beer Report #9 – Maneblusser (moon extinguisher)

The Belgian Beer Report #10 – Filou

The Belgian Beer Report #11 – Wolf 7

The Belgian Beer Report #12 – Bacchus Vlaams Oud Bruin (Bacchus Flemish Old Brown)

The Belgian Beer Report #13 – kwak

The Belgian Beer Report #14 – Bacchus Frambozen (Bacchus Raspberry)

The Belgian Beer Report #15 – Vicaris Tripel

The Belgian Beer Report #16 – Vedett Extra Blond

The Belgian Beer Report #17 – Cornet

The Belgian Beer Report #18 – Quintine Blonde

The Belgian Beer Report #19 – Tongerlo Prior Triple

The Belgian Beer Report #20 – Paljas Blond