No-Li Porch Glow Amber Ale: An Amateurish Beer Review

in #beer4 years ago (edited)

Beers from northwest microbreweries tend to be a bit of a crapshoot. The current hop-happy hipster trend sometimes results in an unbalanced, unpalatable brew. Fortunately, while this is an oddly hoppy amber, I kinda like it.

20200620_021608.jpg
Image credit: No-Li Brew House

No-Li Brew House is in Spokane, Washington. While I have been known to frequent the city, I have never stopped there. My experience with their products is limited to what was on tap at Avista Stadium (home of the Spokane Indians minor league baseball team) and occasional purchases at grocery stores. Retail seems to be aluminum cams, and that is what I have today.

This is 5% ABV, and while the can says 10 IBU, the hops have an herbal and citrusy bite that I find interesting. The malt is not cloyingly sweet, but not overwhelmed completely, either. It seems like a lighter-feeling beverage all around, but not like watery Bud Light. The beer snob terminology escapes me at the moment, but I'd give it my stamp of approval regardless.

It's northwestern hoppy weirdness that isn't an affront to my palate. Make of that what you will.

20200620_023141.jpg

Before indulging in this adult beverage, I went for an evening stroll and experimented with some nighttime photography. Most of my wildflower shots turned out like crap, but this one is passable, I think.

Now it's time to attempt some sleep.I'll schedule this post and we'll see if peakd does its thing.

Cheers!

Sort:  

I am not very good at it, but I find what they call "light painting" night photography to be interesting. Not a bad start there on your shot.

It's hard to operate a smartphone camera and a flashlight while holding everything steady. I used my new Streamlight Protac 1L on its dim setting. Tapping the screen to set focus & light balance while not wobbling anything around was a hassle.