“Let them eat cake”

in #beersaturday4 months ago (edited)

So, Christmas and New Year have passed and the only thing that hasn’t got fatter is our bank balance. In fact, I dare not look at my account right now. Suppose it’s time to start putting in some overtime at work to get me back in the black. Santa, you are a bad influence and thank god you only come around once a year!

Time to choose wisely with the beers it seems. Something cost effective but still quite tasty. Hmmm…what beer would be fit for a pauper such as I?

Let them eat cake!

7BD9BFBE-FD07-4BA3-93E9-F4B4C0CF9A09.jpeg

Sorry for the repeat performance folks, but what can I say, I just can’t get enough of this Shiny breweries, Real or Cake.

In fact, I love this beer so much that I found out where the brewery is located!
A cheeky 40 minute drive to a nice part of Derby named Little Eaton. Just so happens that Little Eaton sits just outside of Matlock village, another beautiful part of Derby that’s very popular with both locals and tourists alike. And so, with a promise of a nice afternoon walk around Matlock, I got to take a cheeky detour on the way back to visit Shiny Brewery!

B13248FB-07C2-4138-B1F5-6FB254C40A17.jpeg

Without an address and a keen eye you’d never find this place. Hidden in what looks like an industrial estate is Shiny tap room. Quite rustic inside and out but lit up like a Christmas tree. There’s also plenty of room for it’s thirsty punters, which is quite uncommon on the micropub/taproom scene. Walk inside and you find a nice size bar offering plenty of choice. And if that’s not enough there’s a gigantic row of fridges stocked to the gills with cans of craft beer.

image source

In hindsight I realise visiting a place like this with limited funds and a particular beer in mind was not the best approach. Hey ho, sometimes you just have chalk these situations down to experiences and come back to fight another day. It’s a pretty first-world problem after all.

Nonetheless, I left with a few cans of my beloved Real or Cake and found out from the barmaid that there are plans to release a barrel aged version at 13%!!!!! OMG. Sign me up. In all honesty, I think Shiny brewery have already created the perfect stout right here but I’m definitely not objecting to them trying to take it a step further. I just know from experience that these beers often get over egged. What the heck. As long as they keep brewing my wonderful Real or Cake, I’m a very happy man.

Ok, it’s time for this poor pleb to enjoy the simple things in life. Beer!

Have a wonderful #beersaturday, folks!

Sort:  

Looks like a great place to visit! I would.be happy having a ripple there

Another little gem in the middle of nowhere 😎

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!