Bizarrely, Coronavirus has set me free!

I'm aware it's an individual tragedy for many, and something of a social tragedy too, but Covid-19 has done this particular individual a favour: it's set me free!

I found out on Thursday 19/03/20 that A-level exams have been cancelled for this year, which means I'll need to cancel my revision Webinars for the next 12 weeks (I guess I'll have to offer refunds too?!?).

Then I found out on Friday 20/03/20 that all of my AET courses I had been due to teach have been cancelled until at least June 1st!

I had had quite a hectic schedule lined up for the next few months, especially next week: it was three days in Brum doing training, then my first Webinar on Thursday evening, which I always find a bit stressful given the shock of the new to the system - when you have a 9 month break from something, it's always a shock coming back into it!

I then had a pretty busy time in April: lots of teaching and a 10 day trip to Bordeaux planned, all of which has now been shelved.

But you know what, thank Fuck!

I may be losing around £3K in income over the next couple of months (actually it doesn't sound too bad now I state it), but you know I really wasn't looking forward to Monday in Brum, or next week, or anything work related at all for most of Spring.

Time to redecorate the house and do a van conversion instead

Rather than doing paid teaching work, I'm now free to do what I actually feel like doing instead - which is

  1. Do minor redecoration on the house - that means me doing painting, and getting someone in to install a shower, do the carpets, and make me a new kitchen counter (the shells are fine, I can paint those). That should be enough to make it rentable.
  2. Trade my car in for a cargo van (probably a Renault Traffic), gut it, then convert it - I actually paid $200 for an online course on how to do it, which may sound like a lot of money, but trust me, it's step by step, videos, worksheets, equipment lists, based on years of experience. Imagine how much time that's gonna save me compared to searching YouTube.

And tossing about on HIVE too of course!

The birth of this new chain has coincided most serendipitous (LOVE that word!) way - I'm in the mood for writing, writing, writing, and it feels like a good time to do it! So happy days, because I'm free to do it too!

I could be outa here by August!

I was actually feeling quite irritated at work last week. I'd painted one room (my office) on the weekend previously, and while I found it tiring, it felt good, but then I was looking at putting this 'transitional labour' on hold for most of April and May as I had regular work penciled in for so much of my time, NOW, I can just crack on!

NB - My plan this year was to rent the house and move on to van live by November at the latest, so now I'll just move this forward.

Of course this depends....

I don't know if they'll be open borders by August, I don't know if I'll have to do any paid work to try and make up for lost income this Spring/ early summer, but I do know that I should be able to at least be ready to be off by August - if I'm still lurking around in Autumn, it's no big deal, at least I'm transition ready!

Cheers, here's to freedom and serendipity

So, here's me having a beer on Beer Saturday to celebrate - cheers!

20200321_165549.jpg

It's called 'Proper Job' - a pretty standard decent ale, and appropriately named given my mood ATM!

I know I haven't hit the rules, but I thought I'd tag along anyway.

Sort:  

Awesome. Stuck in UK with ya. Just bought a T4 for 1500.. was all we could afford. Stripped, cleaned, ready to put out. We have done so many vans. A shame we don't live in same village.. could do a side by side build. Seriously any questions ask .. We have done so many live in vehicles. Great idea to do the course... we learnt on job. We are quite handy but still there's a lot of thinking involved. Well, not anymore.. We know exactly what to do. Will post about it soon x

Wow, £1500, crikey, how many miles on the clock? I think that's similar to the model I've got my eye on, and are you S or LWB?

any questions ask,

Careful what you wish for!

Where abouts are you stuck?

Right. In a way it should wake up a lot of people. The world isn't just shut down because of a virus there's something bigger going on. So take care of each other and your loved ones.

Oh crikey maybe there is, they're just using this as a front to cover for the crash that was going to come anyway!

I've been wondering why neoliberal states seem to care so much about the vulnerable all of a sudden.

To freedom and serendipity!

I am a fan of Proper Job, set me straight for a flight from Newquay to East Midlands a few years ago - the short trip was much more entertaining with a few of those supped in the departure lounge :)

It's a very decent pint, I always think of an old friend/ work colleague when I drink it - not an ale fan, but he liked this, and loved the name for some reason.

That's a proper odd flight! Never done a domestic in the UK!

I would drink again for sure.

Yes that return trip are my only domestic flights, they were not much more expensive than the train and something like 5/6 hours quicker than the train ride - no brainer!

I felt a bit the same last weekend ... and this week has been crazy! Such a lot of organising to do: I've suddenly learned how to manage meetings by video, getting everyone onto the software - talking and not talking as appropriate - putting together a daily bulletin, sourcing technology solutions, drafting letters to the Prime Minister and getting sign up ...
Three grand - really not ahuge amount in the great scheme of things, not when set against the other costs (your life, I mean). Look forward to seeing the van take shape.

There is some really good looking vid conferencing software out there - I saw a great item with Mike Bushell on Breakfast this a.m. where he was doing Zumba with his mum's class via video link - 6 vid windows open, all dancing along together!

I think one needs a smart TV to really make that work at its best.

I can imagine you're busy!

The DV must be through the roof during this!

That's an idea - using a smart TV! I was really struggling - 21 women in the meeting but maximum of eight showing on the screen and the same in the attendance list and chat. I had got a handwritten list I made as people joined, so we managed, but it kind of defeats the object! I was pleased with my new earphones, though. I'd bought them the previous week, wondering if they were an extravagance, but it seems they are necessary for living in this wfh world.

Sounds like a steep learning curve!

Headphones and a Mic, essential.

Love watching van conversions on YouTube. Hope you will share some posts about it too.
My personal plans got messed up too so I'll just focus on garden and other outside work and creating content for Hive.

Cheers with some blackberry wine! :)

Like I'm not going to video the whole van conversion process!

It'll probably mean the whole thing will take a lot longer, but that's half the fun of doing one!

Blackberry wine sounds fine!

Cheers!

Huh! This virus has many interesting effects in many different ways on many very different people :D For me it's not changing much, I'm due to circumstances a home a lot anyway, I just have my boyfriend at home a lot more but we're enjoying that so far :-) Going to buy an e-scooter so I don't have to use public transport anymore though, and maybe can get to the beach during good weather <3

Well good to hear you're keeping well during this whole crazy thing.

I think it might lead to a lot of reflection on WTF we do half the things we do. Exams for example, they've been cancelled, possibly the best thing that to happen to that those cohorts of students!

It's a lovely day over here, must get out myself.

Here they're preparing hotels (!) for delivering babies now. Cancer operations get cancelled because of lack of personnel. It's not good :-/ But it's sunny, so I'm going to drink a cup of coffee in the sun :-) Cheers!