Lock Down Level 4 = Home Brew Time !!

in #beersaturday3 years ago

Lock Down Level 4 = Home Brew Time !!

20210708-155734.jpg

In South Africa, we are hit by the 3rd wave of Covid-19. Due to this we are back to Lock Down Level 4, which means we cannot go and eat at a restaurant, and we may not buy or transport alcohol.

Luckily we can still buy all the ingredients to brew our own BEER!!
That is just what I did, and bought enough ingredients to brew 2 batches. I brewed the first batch yesterday after work!!

5 days ago I wrote a post on Long Tom Dunkel and as they had the hops and some of the grain on the label, and I loved the beer, I thought I will try something along those lines. I could not find the Crystal hops at my local brew shop, but found a substitute - Strisselpalt hops.

Below you can see my hops and yeast.

20210708-163806.jpg

On the photo below, I have my grains in a grain bag, which hangs in the water at 67 degrees Celsius!! I leave it at 67 degrees for 90 minutes.

20210708-163929.jpg

On the photo below, I am boiling my wort, and if you look closely, you can see my bag with hops through all the steam!! The boil takes an hour. I added my hops as follow.

  • 30g Saaz from the beginning
  • 30g Saaz at 50 minutes
  • 30g Stisselpalt at 50 minutes

(Saaz is not really a bittering hops, and is usually only used for flavor at the finish of the boil, but I did add some from the beginning, will see how it comes out at the end)

20210708-183915.jpg

After cooling down, I took my gravity reading, which came to 1.055, this will be used to calculate the alcohol percentage, after fermentation.

20210708-211734.jpg

My brew will now ferment for about two weeks, before I can bottle it.

Here is a list of all my ingredients and the cost of each. I did not use all the hops, I used 60g of Saaz and 30g of Strisselpalt hops. I will get between 40 and 50 bottles of beer from this, which means it will cost me less than R10.00 a bottle. (The current exchange rate is $1.00=R14.25)
Slide1.jpg

Now I can wait for the fermentation to end!!

I hope you liked the post as much as I liked writing it.

I hope you have a wonderful day!!

Sort:  

Hello dear

!BEER


Hey @chingcha, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Cool. Have to try this by myself

Try it, it is very nice to make your own !BEER


Hey @lxsxl, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Ons moes ook al kreatief raak hierdie kant! 😆 Kan nie wag om die eindproduk te sien nie, dit lyk heerlik!

!BEER

Ek dink hy gaan lekker uitkom!!
!BEER


Hey @wynella, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @rynow, here is a little bit of BEER from @wynella for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Awesome stuff for you! Sounds great to get 50 bottles of beer out of that batch, perfect if you brew a couple batches and enjoy a beer or two a day. Middle finger to the bogus lock downs for sure!

Brilliant work! So will this be a dark ale or something lighter? How do you get on with carbonating your brew? I did my first home brew a few months ago and it managed to create a little “fizz” but nothing near to what I would have liked.