#BeerSaturday week 310 - Good Karma 4-Pack: Part II!

in #beersaturday11 months ago


zHops1.jpg

It may be Sunday but it is still #beersaturday in these parts!

Beer blogging came naturally to me due to years spent brewing for myself and restaurants, working with breweries on their technology & marketing, and the decades spent imbibing. Hence, the self-decreed title of the #Blockchain #Beerologist doing my best to consume, report and even brew to do that title justice.

This week, I show you through the last 2 beers in the much anticipated Good Karma taster pack!

 "image.png"

Pint of the Week


IMG_7511.jpg

This week's feature is a frosty pint pulled from a cooler bag in a golf cart on the course for the yearly Chamber of Commerce golf tourney. So happy they have an IPA at all as many courses simply have the light old school beer for the old white guys and not the good stuff for wannabe hipsters like me! Hazy Days Juicy IPA is a staple in my top 10 and you can read a little more about the golf adventure here https://hive.blog/hive-193552/@zekepickleman/actifit-zekepickleman-20230608t015652965z
 "image.png"

The Good Karma 4-Pack!


IMG_7405.jpg

Remember last week when I was excited to discover a new taster pack with one of my all-time favourite seasonal beers in it? Well I am still excited about it and there are 2 more https://www.greatlakesbeer.com/ limited run brews to get into this week.

IMG_7404.jpg

It was Karma Citra and Karma Sabro in the spot light as some of the Karma series I have enjoyed before. This week, we are getting progressive with the hops and doubling up for some serious DIPA.
 "image.png"

Karma Cryo


IMG_7446.jpg

I only discovered Cryo hops in the last year and have seen them pop up at every brewery with a hazy/New England IPA game. For those just discovering them cryo hops https://www.hopculture.com/what-are-cryo-hops/ now, allow me! Lupulin is the an oil inside the hop that creates the expressive flavors and aromas we have come to enjoy in NEIPA, hazy or Double IPAs and the cryo process is one where farmers extract that oil for more efficient hop distribution. Now a cryo karma from GLB? Alright!

IMG_7447.jpg

Karma Cryo https://www.greatlakesbeer.com/Beer/karma-cryo/is listed simply as an American IPA (American/Indian?)and I am digging the style of the label. Maybe it is placebo effect of the cool hops technology but this one tastes more deliberate somehow to me. Not quite as well-rounded as Karma Citra but so consistent in the body, smooth mouthfeel and slightly elevated sweet to bitter/dry end that is well done. I saw a few more of these boxes on the shelf this week and might have to grab another so that I can taste this one again. Good beer!

 "image.png"

Karmageddon!


IMG_7496.jpg

I have saved the boldest and coolest one for last. I love to have a Double IPA in the fridge at all times in case of a late start to the session, or I want that special 5 across the eyes. This one would have jumped off the shelf into my basket if it was not part of this special package because of the brewery, Double IPA, and this impactful design often lost in todays mess of bad labels on good beer. I might almost expect this to be one of those habanero IPAs from the flames!

IMG_7497.jpg

Karmageddon Double IPA https://www.greatlakesbeer.com/Beer/karmageddon/ weighs in heavy at the 8.1% Alcohol by Volume (ABV) and light on the back label of the can with few words and a simple echo from the front. It is not quite the sipper like other harsh and boozy DIPAs but is definitely not to be taken lightly. If 3 or more IPAs would effect my balance in a session, 3 or more of these might bring me back to college days. It would be smooth enough to chase one with another as it does end with that warming sweetness and the hops fade leaving you wanting another. My mouth wasn't exactly on fire after this beer but my taste buds were a little punch-drunk and happy.
 "image.png"


IMG_7406.jpg

Though I was a little disappointed that this taster pack didn't feature the 4 seasonal Karma beers side-by-side for comparison, it was great to discover some different styles. I am even more of a fan of the Karma game they have created and hope some of these are available individually in the future. Til then, I will pick a couple more of these from the shelf while they are still available.

beerologistapproved.png
Congrats again Great Lakes Brewery!

 "image.png"

#BEERSaturday!


350936496_1212472816127111_7487028844334064378_n.jpg

I think this guy should be awarded his honorary degree in #beerology if he hasn't gotten it already. I wonder how the beer tastes! This week, you can join @detlev, myself and all the other beer bloggers at https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/beersaturday-310 for this week's edition.

This week for #BeerSaturday, I would like to invite new friend @wittyzell who is also enjoying the new @3speak app for adding video to our blogs! Take a few pictures, tag #beersaturday and raise a glass with us on Hive!

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

 "text16.png"
 "zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg"

I am honoured to curate for:

 "gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png"

Which one would you start with?

Sort:  

I put all my spare $$$$ into crypto so all I can afford is James Ready.

I drink it really really cold.

261A13B8-DF9E-469E-AB42-2191D63D0073.jpeg

Haha it BETTER be cold! I had a client bring in a few of those last week to the office. Not bad for cheap beer!

It’s an acquired taste … like a lot of really expensive craft beers I have tried.

I started with the Kona then on to the lawnmower beer..

20230610_155129.jpg

Karma Cryo

Haven’t had bitter beer in ages but other drinks like whiskey? I’m down 😅
Seasonal and special ones make me think twice though. Sometimes couldn’t resist!

Cheerssss!

The karma one looks really interesting , the package for sure is eye catching , i would love to try that one too!

I think Raul Cano could be the greatest beerologist. After you, of course! I love the name Karmageddon, man. That's a good one 😅

Good Karma looks very good. I wish we had all your choices of beer down this way. I would really like to try their 4 packs.