Getting into Crypto currency (South Africa)

in #beginning7 years ago

Screenshot_20170623-072006.jpgGood morning fellow Steemians.

Living in South Africa it was a little tricky to get started with crypto currency, due to not being able to buy coins from well known exchanges like Coinbase. So I could never buy Ether or other altcoins with the knowlegde that I had at the time.

I started by doing some research on the biggest crypto currency around, being Bitcoin, and found that there were two exchanges working in South Africa (where I live) Icecubed and Luno.

Luno was my ultimate choice after weighing up the pros and conns and I could not be happier. It is an easy platform to use. Friendly people and fast enough for my experience level.

If any one of you are in South Africa and plan on exchanging some Rand to or from Bitcoin you can find them at https://www.luno.com.

I'm still only able to use Bitcoin as they only use Bitcoin and getting other coins is a pain, but everyone has to start somewhere.

This was the beginning of my story, stay tuned for more.

Hope you all have a blessed day*

Sort:  

Hi protogauge, I feel your struggle. I'm in Kenya and there are no exchanges, we just have to use localbitcoins. I believe you can get to exchange your bitcoin for other crypto on exchanges such as bitfinex and poloniex.

Hi terminatordvp,

I have heard about that, but with bitcoin fees being so high at the moment and my small investment, I dont know if it is worth the risk. Maybe if I have some more in the future I'll start to expetiment with that.

Thank you for sticking it out with me ;) Hope the whole world sees the potential of blockchain technologies, as that might make it easier for people like us.

Kind regards

I'm pretty sure they will sooner or later. We will be lucky to have been already invested in the idea when they do.

Where in Kenya are you situated? Do you know the Nairobi arboretum? There's some free bitcoin you can get there.