Behind The Photo: The great plant

in #behindthephoto4 years ago

PicsArt_040105.08.03.jpg

This looks like just a little plant in a garden that just sprout. I took this picture not just to show the picture of the plant, but to reveal the story and purpose why this little plant was planted and seems so special for me.

I planted the seeds of lettuce together with my son. Both of us do not have good skills at planting. We just know the basics, so this will be a trial and error for us.

I am fan of eating samgyeopsal or "samgy" which is the common term used in my country. So if these plants will grow, I will be very happy and at the same time it will be an achievement for me to plant the lettuce successfully.

While waiting for it to grow, I am planning what to do with the leaves. Then I thought of making a mini "samgy" in our house. I promised to my son that we will eat samgy if the seeds will grow. My son became excited, and he constantly checking if there are some progress.

IMG20190727173344.jpg
After few weeks, we can see some leaves now. Which gives us hope and another excitement. It looks like our plan will happen soon.

Another week have past, and the leaves have grown so we tranferred the plants in a bigger container.
IMG20190916193614.jpg
Then two months later, they are fully grown and we decided to harvest.
IMG20190916193539.jpg
Like I promised, we ate samgy in our house. I bought the ingredients and some side dishes.
IMG20190916194450.jpg
IMG20190916194504.jpg

I also cooked Spicy noodles
IMG20190916193646.jpg

IMG20190727173218.jpg

That is the story behind the photo of a little plant.
The plant that gave hope, excitement, and happiness to my family. We had a great time eating together. A good way that gave us a time to bond with my family.

Link of the contest: https://peakd.com/behindthephoto/@nelyp/behind-the-photo-contest-edition-9

Jury: @nelyp and @johan.norberg
Sponsor: @appreciator

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!