⭐️ "The Rock"

in #bescouted6 years ago (edited)

bescouted_photo.jpg

One of my very first pieces in graphite pencil and watercolor on reverse side of glass. It was a commission for a surrealistic portrait. That was particularly difficult, seeing that I had to do it inverted.

Now added to my BeScouted collection, where you can see a good overview of my art all on one page.


bescouted.gif

sig-2017-1.png

pfeil-3.png

See more of my work on sola

Sort:  

I am really impressed by the use of graphite pencils in this creative way.

Thank you :-)

That difficulty makes the brain work full.

Sure does ;-)

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

I love rocks, sometimes I paint stones .... mr. @reinhard-schmid, does the theme of this painting depict a rescue stone?

I'm not sure I understand, what a rescue stone is...?

my imagination says these stones are like giving way to the safety of the ferocity of the water movement that looks so scary ... the stone is like making a bridge ... and there is also a stone house that makes one feel comfortable before crossing the bridge ... this is just my imagination when enjoying and feeling your painting mr. @reinhard-schmid .. sorry if I misunderstood :(.. I'm still learning ... I'm very excited to see your surreal painting ....

I see, thank you for your explanation. I think you give a very nice interpretation :-)

my brother and my father are realist painters, just me different in my family ... I am surreal lovers, but still confused where to start ... I taught myself Mr. @reinhard-schmid, I have much to learn from you ..

Most surrealist painters today are self taught. Starting to work realistic and practice the basics of drawing/painting is certainly a good idea. The rest comes, when the time is right :-)

thank you for enlightenment mr. @reinhard-schmid, hope you never get bored with me who is always this fussy... ^ _ ^
Thank you very much !

Nice titan. Especially having in mind that it is one of the first work you've done considering the difficulty of this technique. I was watching a movie about Paul Gauguin recently, and there was a scene where he made a painting on a window and i am pretty sure he painted it in reverse that looks normal from the outside. Does he have any relation to the birth of this technique?

Glad you like my stone head ;-)

Didn't even know, Gauguin worked in this technique also. But I definitely don't think he has anything to do with the birth of reverse glass painting, as it dates back much further.

Not sure he did, judging from a scene in the movie is probably not the best way to ptesent facts :) He might have picked it up and used hospital window just because he was so broke he could not afford a canvas :)

Haha.. yes, that could well be true :-)

Your art really reminds me so many books and images of my childhood. This mix of sweetness with a bit of worry and something slightly trippy but more in the poetic, story telling sense. A voyage.

Thanks a lot! I like that mixing and trying to keep a fragile balance. See that in your awesome work as well!

Also working reversed is mad ;)

One gets used to it :-D

What an amazing way to have one's portrait done. I love the splash of water at the base.

This makes me feel a warm fuzzy feeling as it reminds me of New Hampshire (a state in the US) that has a famous old man of the mountain. IT was a famous outcropping on the side of a mountain that looked an old man and was even used on signs and in other official documents. Unfortunately the cliff has eroded but it still always makes me think of skiing and hiking with lovely mountains around. It's a very mountainous area in NH that we would go.

The little house and outbuilding on top is such a wonderful expression of a persons fond memories of home.

That's a nice connection. I looked it up on the web. Fascinating! Too bad, it fell off.

We have a rock like this too in our area. Richard Wagner head on mount Arber. Takes some imagination though!

This is such brilliant work. I would love to know more about your process. How do you do graphite pencil and watercolor on glass? Fascinating.

Thanks, glad you like it. You can see some about my technique here :-)

nice one Reinhard ;-)

Thanks a lot :-)

Great work as always, I love the strength it represents. A lot of work, I see it @reinhard-schmid

Thank you. Yes, it was quite the job :-b

Never seen this one before Reinhard. I'm liking Steemit, it's forcing artists such as yourself and Peter to bring out the oldies from the depths of the vaults. It's a window onto another period of your life.

You are absolutely right. This painting is from a time, when I just started to be self employed. Around 1988!
Its interesting for myself too, too look through these oldies and bring back the memories of these days...

Super schön gemacht!