a sunset at St. Andrews Bay, South Georgia

in #bescouted5 years ago

Besides being unbelievably packed with numerous of marine species and an insanely large amount of them crowded on a relatively small beach, the sunsets are somewhat breathtaking at St. Andrews Bay. During the end of this afternoons expedition on St. Andrews it was amazing to watch the sun slowly set behind the ice covered mountains that tower over this spectacular beach.

Here you can see the mountainous backdrop with quite a large congregation of elephant seals in the foreground. I couldn't help myself and take roughly 20 photos of this exact moment before putting the camera down and basically attempting in absorbing the reality of where it was I was standing. I honestly believe though I haven't really processed it in order to do it justice. No doubt though it will eventually hit me over the next few month whilst I rest in between work contracts or at home with my family. Until then though its back to work, driving small zodiacs around this remotely beautiful part of the world before we lift anchor and head towards the Antarctic Peninsula


'that desolate island, unfit for human beings to inhabit'

~ Thomas W. Smith
Talking about South Georgia from his book 'A Narrative of the life, Travels & Sufferings of Thomas W. Smith.


IMG_2480-1.jpg
Click image to view full size


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

amazing shot thomas....i'm not commenting all your posts.... when i do, that's a sign something captured me and i cannot do otherwise....so excellent colors mate...bravo!

Thank you very much! That is ok - you can comment on as many of my posts you like. I really appreciate it

Thank you very much! That is ok - you can comment on as many of my posts you like. I really appreciate it


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here
This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's curie curation trail after manual review
Please join the community and become a photomag curator in the @c-squared discord server and vote for the @c-squared witness here .