Early Birthday Presents!

in #birthday3 years ago (edited)



On February 4th, 2021, I will be one year older.

This year in August, I will be married for twenty-five years to my husband. After almost 25 years of living with the same person, you get to know them very well. You know what makes them happy, sad, and angry. How hard they try at life and how much they do care about family.

There are pros and cons to being married. The older we both get, the more in love we become. After almost 25 years, you realize that when shit hits the fan for one of us, the other person stepped up and helps you through.

You learn to rely on each other. Over the years, we have also learned to always thank one another for the simple day-to-day tasks we each do. It might sound silly to thank your spouse for taking the garbage out. Yet, even your spouse needs to feel like they matter as a person and are not unappreciated.





When it comes to presents, my husband tries hard to get me something he knows I would like. For five years in a row, my son and he brought me candles for Christmas and my birthday. I do love candles. Five years of candles was a bit much. After the fifth year, I suggested that maybe next year they could look for another gift type.

Each Christmas, I now get warm items of clothing. Mostly socks. Every other year I will get a warm fuzzy onesie. A candle still shows up from time to time too. 😸

This year I decided to take my birthday presents into my own hands. I have been having a lot of fun drawing, painting, and coloring in adult coloring books when my brain is mush.




Mushrooms and more Mushrooms!



One of the problems with sound quality color pencils is the price. I decided to do a bit of research on colored pencils. I found a brand called "Black Widow wax coloured pencils". They are a waxed based pencil, just like one of the top brands.

The Black Widow pencils are said to hold a point for longer. They are also cheaper, come in six different sets containing unique colors. If you buy two different sets of pencils, you do not have to worry about getting doubles of a color you already own. I liked that about the brand too.





I ordered myself all of the Black Widow colored pencil sets. I also ordered a large pencil case to put them all in. This way, I will not have to open six tins to find a color that I want to use. To top off all the years of candles and socks, I threw in the adult coloring book Worlds within Worlds by Kerby Rosanes.

In for a penny, in for a pound.





Once ordered, I walked out into the living room and told my husband that he just bought me the best birthday presents ever! He saw how happy I was. He smiled at me, shook his head, and we both had a good chuckle. He is aware of his lack of gift buying skills.

Half of the order came in two days ago. The rest of the order came today, on Sunday. I spent the last two days following a swatch chart made by a YouTuber called Coloring Bliss and putting all the pencils in order by color. That was a labor-intensive job!




All in pretty color order!!



The hardest part now is deciding which layout I am going to color first! Which one would you start with?

I would love to know!




Choice One


Choice Two



May your week be filled with joy and laughter!!



Help someone smile today. It can not hurt you.


Snook



All photos are mine unless otherwise stated.



Gif made by @Snook



Sort:  

Woww... Your narration shows that your husband is a very attentive and caring person so, he Never misses to shower you with presents whenever the opportunity arises.

This your upcoming birthday is already going to be remarkable because you are already feeling the vibe. Your drawing and painting are also very aesthetic

Well Done

Thank You!!!

Congrats,

and as I stated not that long ago:

"Every Al has his Peggy and every Peggy has her Al"

SO very True!!!!!!!!!

I'm turning 20 on the 27th. Can't wait

Happy Birthday!!! :D

Hello lovely lady! :D

Very well said. :D You're right, marriage is a partnership and we each do our parts on the daily, but on those occasions when one of us can't do something the other steps up. :D My handsome husband and I will be celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary in June, so I'm well aware of the importance of marriage being a partnership. :D

(Awe, close but not close enough, my birthday is this Saturday (23rd) and our grand puppies are on February 6th. :D) I've recently learned there are a lot of cool people born in the first quarter of the year. :D

Happy Birthday and Happy Anniversary, in advance! :D Just in case I'm not on for some reason when they come around. :D

Sending you hugs, love and positive vibes. :D

God bless you and your wonderful family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

Happy 30th a little early!!!

It IS a journey :D

SO many HUGS!!!

Thank you lovely lady! :D

That's so true, some days the journey is a blast and other days its a kick in the keister, but as long as we get to spend them with those we love they're all good days. :D

Yeay to your Birthday coming up pretty Lady 😁 and good your husband knows you well and gives you right kinds of gifts.
And I LOOOVE your choice for a self bday gift 😍 you have grown much in your drawings and paintings.
That book is awsome and I love how you painted the Mushrooms with shades that makes it look alive.
Also love all your pencils and the boxes are badass with Spider, scorpions on.
Can't wait to see more of your progress 🤗❤️💋

Thank you for sharing and always inspire. LOVE YOU 🤗❤️💋😍😘

Love YOU!!

You inspire me daily too!!

I like choice 2
reminds of the old woman in a shoe
you know, that didn't know what to do
or something like that, bibbidibobbidyboo

I do also :D Why I started with Choice 1 first :D

HUGS!

When we were first married, my husband bought me very nice gifts. I would often give him a wish list to work from, and he did very well. After a few years, he seemed to sort of freeze up in the gift department, so now I usually buy myself something and tell him what he is giving me. It's not very romantic, but it works.

That is what I did this year so I get it but mine was never good at gifts........

and after almost 25 years....I am use to it. LOLL

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Thank You!

Congratulations @snook! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 130000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 140000 upvotes.
You received more than 17000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 18000

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP