It's My Five Year Birthday!

in #birthday2 years ago (edited)



A blog post, video, or photo never tells the whole story. It reveals a moment in time a person wanted to share. You can share bits and pieces of yourself for many reasons, but I share to remember the good and bad I have learned. After five years, it is time to document the beginning. The real beginning.





My son @Ecoinstant pushed me hard to join and start blogging on the blockchain when I never had written or expressed a desire to do either. He was worried about me. Worried enough that he kept pecking away at me to blog and finding ways and places for me to start writing down something, anything.

He saw his Mother deteriorating faster and faster, which worried him. The person he counted on to help him couldn't help anymore. The person that knew where everything was in the house could not find anything when he asked. He saw her wilting before his eyes. My son's hands were tied because he lived in a different country. He was now tied to a country that held the women he loved and married.

You see, I was lost. The person I had been gathered people together, had parties, went places, cleaned the house from top to bottom in one day, and worked hard at full-time and part-time jobs (s). In a short time, I went from being myself to someone that could barely remember what day it was. My life was stolen from me, and no one could tell me why or how to fix it.



me.jpg

My Aunt Jane and Me



I spent five years being told by everyone and anyone around me that I wasn't in pain. That I was faking it. That no one could be as sick as I was. I was told to put some makeup on and get over it.

I was told to go on a diet, and I would feel better. I was told it was all in my head. I was told all this by family members and my closest friends. I became withdrawn and depressed as I lost everything that had made up my life.

I went from a person that would read six to seven books a week to not being able to read and remember what I read by the time I worked my way down to the bottom of a page. I had been a person that sat outside for hours knitting while listening to audiobooks.

To become a person unable to knit anymore because I could not comprehend the patterns I wanted to make. I had stopped making plans because ninety percent of the time, I was in too much pain or too foggy in my head to leave the house.



My life, which had always been full of people and laughter, became isolating.



It was during that time I found gaming on the internet. I taught myself how to play RPG games. I found design games and built beautiful worlds. I could do all this at my own pace and not let anyone down if I was slow. People didn't realize how long it took me to get anything done. They just saw the end product but not the hours and days I took to accomplish what I had.

Five years after I became ill, a Doctor finally informed me I had Fibromyalgia. He said there was medicine I could take, and it would help me get my life back. I trusted him. I should not have. I spent Hell on Earth for a year trying all of the Fibromyalgia medications. None worked for me.

The medications gave me panic attacks so bad that some days I would get so scared I had to call my Husband. I would tell him I needed him to talk. I needed an anchor to this world. He never understood what I was going through. I never went back to that Doctor again.



weekly.jpg



During the year, I was on all those different medications. One of the side effects was being seasick when trying to play my favorite games. Because I could not play anymore, I lost the many friends I had made along the way. Once again, I was alone.

I became even more depressed. A depression so deep it was scary. I was smart enough to reach out at that time and get help.

I needed to find a game I could play alone that would make me think. I tried playing Hearthstone once again. In many ways, Hearthstone kept me sane. Yet it wasn't enough. I was alone all day and most of the night. I had very little interaction with people. While I like to be alone, too much of anything is not healthy for a person.



stats.jpg



With baggage on my back, I signed up to the blockchain with no hope that anyone would care I was there. I had never written anything. I can not spell. I can not type well. My first post took me hours and hours to write. Back then, there wasn't a group looking to welcome new people. I was lucky; my son had already been on the blockchain for a while and knew a few people.

I made my #introducemyself post, and my son's friends came to say hello. It was sweet, but I knew then his people were not mine. I am not a homesteader or even a gardener. I had promised I would give it a go for a month.

My saving grace was @mariannewest and her brand new #freewrite post she started. If not for her and the Freewriters, I would never have made it here for five years. Those five-minute freewrites took me up to five hours to go back and fix and make them readable. I did them because I could use my imagination, and they made me feel free for the first time in a very long time.



Gif made by @Snook



In the end, Hive saved my life. It gave me a life very different from what I was used to. But a life where I was excepted for just who I am. The twenty hours a day trying to learn to write, format, read and reply to other people's posts has been life-giving.

I am forever grateful to my son for noticing and caring enough to push me screaming to this blockchain.

I hope the next five years will be just as magical.



Help someone smile today. It can not hurt you.


Snook



All photos are mine unless otherwise stated.





Sort:  

Now where would we be without five years of Snook on the blockchain?

We'd not know that #snookmademedoit was a real thing, even though you deny it.

We'd not have had a Pants Are Optionsal podcast where you took people down some strange paths.

We'd not have had 30 minute 'interviews' that turned into 3 hour parties.

We'd not have had whatchamacallit, thingamaji and doohickey as normal parts of conversations

We'd not have had the debate between crick and creek

We'd not have had those mysterious DM's with directions to do offbeat things without explanation

We'd not have been able to watch you teach yourself to draw/water paint

We'd not have had your creative storytelling

Most of all we'd not have had Snook

Congrats and here's to 5 more.

Thank You, Shadows, for being a huge part of my 5 years here!!! It would not have been the same with out your friendship and all that went with being your friend.

I will be here in 5 more years along with you and then we will have a party ....... a short interview the likes never seen before. That I promise you and the gnomes and cats. :D

Your comment made me grin and laugh today and for that, I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

My work is successful... getting Snook to smile or laugh at my comments. I thought you might have one or two, even on a day like today.

This is a truly heart-touching story you shared with us, @snook! Thank you! 💗

So glad to read you've found your way back to enjoying life and a way to the Hive blockchain! 🌞 Happy 5th anniversary on Hive and here's to celebrating many more in the future! 🎉🥂

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment!!

As long as Hive is here I will be here :D That is a promise, not a threat LOLLL

Life is always what we make it and what we learn along the way. No one ever said it would be easy...cuz its not HA!

Happy Sunday to you!!

Hello lovely lady! 😊

I can't imagine the blockchain without you in it. You make everyone smile at just the sight of your name and your laugh makes us want to laugh with you. You are an amazing, caring, fun loving individual that has to deal with the suckiness, (I know it's not a word, technically, but all of us that live with constant pain will know it should be,) of chronic pain. I'm there with you sister, the blockchain helped me get out of that same sort of funk and I'm grateful that you were one of the first beautiful souls to welcome me and become my friend. 𞭾

CONGRATULATIONS, I'm sending you the biggest HUGS and loads of positive vibes and love to you in celebration of your 5th birthday! 😊

God bless you and your wonderful family. Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! 😊

I am so happy I found you here!!

Thank YOU for always looking for the bright side of everything and always offering beautiful words of encouragement!!

HUGS!

Me too!

My pleasure, I'm not always cheery, but I try to only let the grumpiness the pain causes out for short bursts and then I make myself start humming or singing (not well, but still it helps,) to get into a better mood/frame of mind and I've found it has made a big difference for me, so I like to try and pay that positive energy forward as we need it to combat all the negativity that bombards us. 😊

HUGS back again! 😊

Happy Hive Birthday! It looks as if everyone else has already said everything there is to say, so I will just add that I am glad I "met" you here on Hive. I always enjoy what you write. I appreciated reading the backstory just now; life certainly does dish out the obstacles! I've had a few, myself. I still haven't colored your coloring page. Maybe this winter I'll get around to it on some cold, snowy day when I am staying in the cozy house.

Do you know the best part about that coloring page? It's always there waiting for when you need it most. :D

Thank You for spending part of my journey here with me. I can not imagine Hive with out you here.

Thanks for sharing such a personal story! I am in a similar situation with my mental health to where I don't get out and about anymore. Hive has been of enormous value to me too! Stay safe and congratulations!

Make sure you always keep Hive as your safe place, your happy place!!

I knew you were not in a very good place, healthwise, when you came onto the blockchain, but I don't think I realized just how bad it was until I read this post. I am so glad that your son steered you in this direction! Wow, you have certainly come a long way since then! You have charmed us all with your delightful personality and made so many friends. You have been a positive influence on so many people, from the freewriters to PYPT to TheAlliance. We are definitely blessed to have you here! Happy Hiversary, dear one! 😊

Hiversary-TKG.png

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@thekittygirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @snook and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/18 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thank You Kitty!!

And we all need some secrets, now don't we. LOLL

But, I never wanted to be the person that was sick..... I needed a place to just be me :D

Thank YOU for always being you and sharing my journey with me too.

HUGE HUGS!!!

Well ye know (or should) that I ain't gonna be all tip toe and cotton gloves.
And I really have no clue about what you do on HIVE except that you have a Snookmademedoit tag.
What I do know about you for sure though is. When you are not here, you are missed.

Well ye know (or should) that I ain't gonna be all tip toe and cotton gloves.

If you did I would wonder who I was talking to. LOLL

When you are not here, you are missed.

And I think you always know the best things to say. I promise your secret is safe with me.

HUGS!

I just had a feeling it would be something that would support you.

untitled.gif

Little did I know you would become so popular! I finally bought a Snook NFT :

image.png

This might be a new tech for you, but you have always been a 'creator'. I love how you have strategically ignored so many of the complicated bits to make HIVE into just the space for you to express yourself - and you do it beautifully.

I love you.

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT! for the NFT :D and it's a good one too!!

I love you so SO so Much!

and so proud of you also.

and Thank You!! You made me cry <3

You are a courageous warrior 🔥

Happy birthday, beautiful soul.

Many more and only success, healing and more rising to your full potential as you progress on your journey on Hive. I know it has the power to heal us. The authenticity and the honest connecting around here.

Just keep on being you, as you so wonderfully put it. Because you're beautiful ❤️

Thank you Nicky!! Sorry I have not been around...I am hoping my world settles down for a few weeks, and I can get back to having fun reading everyone's posts I missed!

and I will always be me... It's all I know so we are all stuck with me! LOLLL

Loading...
Loading...

I'm going to keep this post.

forever!

I actually knew a lot of this from our chats but I love having it right here...written down...so that I can share it to people who need to see why online community is so important.

I don't think that people always "get it". The ones that don't need it sometimes can be cruel and mocking with sarcasm, being "funny" and telling people how fake the online world is

The ones who need it more than anything are sometimes so afraid to try it... because they don't want to be the 'weird ones' who need this fake world.

They 'should' be like others and be able to cope in the "real world"

To me, this world is more real and open and vulnerable than offline. for me. I'm not saying that's for everyone ...but I'm saying that's for me.

I've found truer friends here that are more loyal and understanding and OPEN to connection here....than anywhere else in the world.

I honestly think it's because we know. we know the pain and hurt that the offline world can bring and we can sense when people have that same hurt and just want connection.

I hate that you suffered alone for so long before you found help, but I'm so glad that the suffering brought you here.

because that's how you became part of me and I became part of you ❤️

I love you so much. thank you for always seeing!!!

I love you too!!!

I am out of words for today.....

But it's okay cuz you understand.

HUGS!

Happy - belated - cake day, Snook! 🍰

Thank you for sharing and reflecting on your Hive journey. I am so glad your son insisted and you obliged and now enjoy being here. I hope you did get to celebrate your remarkable journey.

It's so sad infuriating that the medications you received not only didn't help but made you feel worse. Hopefully, you didn't lose all faith in doctors and scientists who I am sure will continue to search for new ways to treat Fibromyalgia. And I hope that you'll continue to find ways to cope with it until they do.

Here's to your next five Hive years!! 🍾
Cheers!

lose all faith in doctors and scientists

Ohhh, it gone. Lost a long time ago and each time I try again I get screwed. LOLL It is what life is though so we adapt and learn new ways of living day to day.

HUGS!

Wow what a story. And how is your fibromyalgy going now?

5 years of working on yourself it seems, just while putting it online. It feels like way more than just an achievement

It's still bad. but I have found ways to deal with it so most days do not become lost.

Yes, these 5 years are bigger than an achievement. It gave me back my life and for that I can never repay my son for making me start.

Thank YOU for your beautiful comment. It means a lot!


~~~ embed:1576524310738395137 twitter metadata:am95dW5kaXNwdXRlZHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS9qb3l1bmRpc3B1dGVkL3N0YXR1cy8xNTc2NTI0MzEwNzM4Mzk1MTM3fA== ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @sassycebuana, @joydukeson ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Woo! Has it been that damn long? Shit. Glad to have found and met you sis. Much love.

untitled.gif

I love you too! These 5 years would have not been as fun without you in it.

HUGE HUGS!

Happy cakeday!:)

Thank you so much Acidyo :D

I hope you are doing okay!!

HUGS!

Wish you a happy Hive Birthday!

$WINE

Cheers~


Congratulations, @theguruasia You Successfully Shared 0.800 WINEX With @snook.
You Earned 0.800 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 4/4 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.234


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Thank You!

You came a long way ahead in your life Going through these hard phases of life ain't easy. After reading your hustle of 5 years I realize these challenges made you stronger and a part of life that I can relate with as well.

What an inspiring journey of yours and Amazing writeup. You're lucky to have such Son may he stay happy and blessed.

Wish you many more happy years in this Blockchain. Keep smiling and hiving.

!PIZZA
!LUV

these challenges made you stronger

They did. Smarter too.

Thank you for your kindness in your comment. I hope Hive gives you the same joy it gives me.

Glad to hear.

My pleasure. Thank you so much for the best wish. Tbh, hive is giving me the same joy and feels like my comfort zone when I'm in here.

Damn! What an inspiring post and congratz on being here for 5 years! :'D

Thank you!!!

The time went by so fast :D

I am very happy you enjoyed my post!!

Congratulations to you, these health issues brings it baggages and I cannot say I understand how you felt because my own pain was and is different. I'm glad you're alive and still kicking, it's an accomplishing feat to keep up the hope despite any obstacles and illness. I'm glad throughout all these years you've found succor with hive. I did too.

Congratulations on your five years anniversary. Thanks for all the impact, you were one of the people that made me here.

Hi Josediccus!!!

I remember when you started :D Those were fun times!

We both have come very far in our own ways and time. I think both of us can be proud of our journey here.

Enjoy your Sunday!~!

Hahaha, I'm hoping we can get to share this milestones, 5 years from now. It'll be great to have seen double figures on the Blockchain despite all the challenges and all.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@idksamad78699(5/5) tipped @snook (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Wow! Happy 5th year anniversary on the Block Chain 😍💖 It's amazing how your story started and now you're on your fifth year already! 😊😊 It's still my 1st year on hive last July but my account was stolen that's why I made a new one. 🥺 Still, blogging is always my passion and it's been part of my daily routine. Continue to be an inspiration to those who just started blogging on the platform! 😊

Thank you!!

The time really does go fast after the first year. I am sorry you lost your first account :(

But am very happy you stuck it through and made another one!!

Happy Sunday to you!!

Happy five years! Hope to see you here more five years 🎉

Thank you!!

and God willing you will see me making posts and telling stories here in for another 5 years :D

Wonderful story. And wish you for fifth birthday

Thank You for stopping to read!! and for the well wishes.

what a motivational story happy birthday)

we can do anything if you need/want it bad enough.

Thank you so much for stopping to read my post.

Happy 5th Anniversay friend @snook

20220223_123408.jpg

Thank YOU!!!

Happy Sunday to YOU!!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @grindan.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Happy 5th birthday on the blockchain..congrats.

Thank YOU!!!

You are welcome

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

What a story! Read @shadowpub's comment too and I'm even more struck. I really am glad for you. There's a lot we newbies will not be able to relate to...

Cheers to many more 5years of success and fulfilment.

PS There was no sickness of body then yeah? It was just your mind that needed to find you? How did all that pain go away?

No, I am in pain each day. Writing posts and keeping my mind busy with people that care and understand help make life bearable.

Ooh I see how it is. I really am sorry, but more glad you've found solace here.

Cheers! 😁

Thanks for being so participative =)

😉😎 !WINE towards those so invigorating and experienced 5 years 😀🎉


Hi @forkyishere, You Have No Enough WINEX Tokens To Make A Successful Call.
Please Stake at least 25.000 WINEX Tokens.
(We Will Not Send This Error Message In Next 24 Hrs).

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.210


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Bahhhhhh ! dark souls don't live on wine... LOL

Master!!! Come here and please give some wine to this amazing person...

You have to lose the habit of asking for this !LOL

A jumper cable walks into a bar..
The bartender says, I'll serve you, but don't start anything.

Credit: reddit
@forkyishere, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @forykw

Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP
(1/8)

Maybe someday, grouped accounts will be a reality, and any account replying as a group account key, will exhibit the "group" stance. Similar to when a group has a leader that speaks for others but that leader can change depending on the topic.

Anyhow, just thinking out loud inside your head.

Very important to celebrate memories.

!WINE


Hi @forykw, This Post Is Older Than 3 Days Days.
Please Try Another Post.
(We Will Not Send This Error Message In Next 24 Hrs).

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.210


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us